We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good location, close to town, bus station and railway station.

Looks like the hotel has recently been done up, and very tasteful. Comfortable beds, small but perfectly formed bathroom with fabulous walk in shower. Nice touches like free wifi, water in the room, and turn down service with chocolate!

Good breakfast - hot options cooked to order and served to the table. Ate in the bar one evening; food was great but bar tables too low to comfortably eat from - invest in some higher tables or give diners opportunity to eat from the bar menu in the restaurant.

Good value in what seems to be an expensive city. Will certainly try and stay here during my next trip to Cambridge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollyDimpleAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear DollyDimpleAbroad

Thank you for your review, I was so happy to see that you felt it was a great place to stay during your recent trip to Cambridge.

I am also pleased to see that you felt it was great value, the best way to get a fantastic deal is to go for our Advance purchase rates when booking direct.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great stay and hopefully I will have the chance to meet you in person and thank you.

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    615
    206
    48
    29
See reviews for
235
812
94
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely hotel, well placed about 10 minutes walk into town. Staff friendly and helpful....nothing was too much trouble. They asked if our party would like the champagne that we had brought put on ice for after our shopping which I think was a very nice thought. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear sharon b

Thank you for your fantastic review we are so pleased that you had a great stay with us, nothing gives us more pleasure than to see all of our guests happy and having an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope that on your next visit to Cambridge we will have another opportunity to serve you again for another great stay.

Thanks again

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for a week for a conference followed by a little holiday in Cambridge.

The hotel is almost right in the centre of town but the rooms are quiet (or at least ours facing the back was). Although not particularly glitzy - the room was big, well equipped and clean. Best of all the air-con actually works properly (which is rare in UK!). The bathroom was not huge but was quite nice and the shower came on at the proper temperature and pressure. Actually the first day the basin was not draining quickly - I had been about to report it but forgot, and when we got back in the evening, it had been fixed without us mentioning it.

The staff were quite nice without being annoyingly in your face. The breakfast is expensive but not extortionate (and is actually quite a bit cheaper if booked with the room) and is really nice - specifically it includes a full English breakfast cooked to order and brought to your table properly hot, which has become uncommon of late as many hotels just go for a buffet.

So all in all not entirely perfect but value for money and worth a five star review.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a better view but I think the ones at the back are quieter. There are only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Marion M

Thank you for your 5 star review! We were delighted to see this.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our carbon efficient air-conditioning, and that you were happy with your room.

Breakfast we feel is the most important meal of the day because it is the last impression you get of the hotel so we are very keen to ensure that the quality served is high and plates are hot! As you say something you don’t see much of nowadays in other hotels.

I hope that next time you visit Cambridge you will try on of our superior rooms and I hope this will add a bit of glitz to your stay.

Thank you for taking the time

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Ideally located on the ring road opposite the lovely Parkers Piece, all central attractions are within easy walking distance. The hotel has been recently refurbished and the rooms are very comfortable indeed. Very comfortable and huge beds, very clean throughout, lovely coffee machine in rooms and a huge TV (if you need it)
We had a side room on the second floor and there was no road noise at all making for a restful sleep. The car park was more than adequate for all the guests staying there (the hotel was full), and the kind reception staff allowed us to park there well before check-in and well after we checked out - saving us considerable amounts in parking charges.
The only reason I have not given this hotel an Excellent rating is entirely due to the breakfast service/food. It was clear most items had been cooked well before serving then heated up again. We waited ages for ours and then we were served the wrong order. A lot of others received wrong orders too. Do not let this put you off staying here, though. I would say definitely stay here but enjoy a nicer (and probably cheaper) breakfast at one of the many cafes and coffee shops nearby

Room Tip: 2nd floor side rooms very quiet indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Andy W

Thank you for your great review, we were delighted to see that you found our rooms to be lovely and the hotel in a super location.

I see that you had one of our superior rooms located at the front of the hotel and I am pleased that you found it to be quiet and restful.

Our breakfast is cooked to order so please accept my sincere apologies for this not being up to our usual high standard. We have experienced a few issues in the kitchen department lately however I am pleased to say that this is now under control and the usual high standard is back in place.

I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and serve you again soon where I am sure you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in the Gonville hotel for one night, before we left for Harwich. We had a nice big room, a bit annoying was the airco outside the window which made noise all night long. Good breakfast, with choice between hot and cold dishes.
The water ray from the shower was very poor. ( we stayed in room 222)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natascha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2017
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Can't fault the place, ideal location, big room, friendly staff, good car park, good breakfast, easy check in. Nice seated garden area only spoilt by the smokers using it but after 2 cigs each they eventually went inside. would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sunshades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear sunshades

Thank you for your 5 star review! We were so pleased to see that you had a great stay with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon for another great stay.

Thank you for taking the time,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A great place to stay for exploring Cambs. Staff friendly & efficient, nothing too much trouble. Room on 2nd floor was spacious, huge bed - very comfortable, over bath shower was a little restricting but a small inconvenience. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireJo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing