We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was perfect, great location, nice stroll across the park into the centre. Staff extremely helpful and polite. Rooms clean and modern. Bar needs updating but apart from that perfect hotel for visit to Cambridge, would recommend and visit again

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craven1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Craven1608

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review,

We are so pleased that you found the hotel to be in a great location and close to the centre as well as being clean and modern.

Please know that I will be passing your comments back to my team who will also be delighted.

We are soon to update the Bar its on my list! Hopefully in time for when you come back to visit.

Thanks again

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    596
    198
    46
    28
See reviews for
223
779
90
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

For our anniversary me and my husband treated ourselves to stay at the Gonville, and were thoroughly impressed!

This hotel is beautifully furnished with friendly staff who were willing to help, and a lovely dinning area. Very convenient for all Cambridge amenities.

If you stay I recommend eating there, there are lots of places in Cambridge, but the food was amazing. We enjoyed a dinner of pork followed by desert (both beautifully presented), and made sure we were up for a delicious breakfast the next day.

I am shocked this hotel is not 5 star, having stayed one night I very much wished I could have stayed longer at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: No tips, you just can't go wrong with this lovely hotel!
See more room tips
Green Features: Good recycling habits encouraged! Nothing more to add.
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EHopkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear EHopkin

Wow! Thank you so much for your fantastic review, we are all delighted to see that you had a great stay with us and found my team to be friendly and helpful, nothing gives us more pleasure to know that you had a lovely time with us!

It is certainly our aim to be the best in Cambridge and something we don’t take lightly, from service to the food everything needs to be right.

Thank you for sharing your comments and taking the time, we hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back again.

Happy Anniversary!

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Spent two nights at hotel. Staff were extremely helpful. Everything spotless. Comfortable. Breakfast very good with plenty of choice. We ate in one night and food and service was excellent.the only thing that we found fault with was lack of drawer space but as we were only away for short while it was not a problem.

Room Tip: We were in 101. Overlooked roof of restaurant but very quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sue L

Thank you so much for your 5 star review!

We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us and found the hotel to be spotless and my team helpful.

Please know that I will be passing on your feedback especially to my F&B team with regards to the quality of food and service. I am sure they will be delighted to hear your comments.

Thank you again for taking the time, we hope that next time you visit you choose to stay with us again, make sure you ask for a room overlooking the garden as these have plenty of storage.

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I hadn't been to this hotel for some years and was amazed by the transformation / re-fit upgrade. The reception area is now up to date and very welcoming. I wasn't staying at the hotel, just eating in the Atrium Restaurant, as it had been recommended by a friend.

I have to say the food was outstanding and was worthy of a Michelin star any day, just couldn’t fault it at all. The staff were professional and friendly too and a special thank you goes to our waiters for the evening Joaquin & Jade and also to the lady who walked us out to our car with an umbrella because it was chucking it down.

All in all, first class service, fantastic food and the friendliness staff I’ve met in a restaurant for a long time. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Melanie N,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review, we were delighted to see that you were really impressed with our new Reception and Atrium Restaurant following the refurbishment.

We are so happy with the results and the difference this has made to our hotel, now the public areas match the quality of our fabulous bedrooms!

Please know that I will be taking your feedback back to my team who will also be very happy with your comments. Nothing gives us more pleasure than to see our guests have a great time with us!

We are really moving the food standard forward as we become the hotel of choice in Cambridge; our New Head Chef Jay will also be delighted with your comments!

The other members of my team you mention will also be rewarded for their excellent service because this is something we are always encouraging them to do and pleased to see it in action.

Thank you for taking the time, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Atrium soon.

Kind regards,


Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94022
Level Contributor
225 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is the second time I stayed in this Best Western.

The location is 5 minutes walk from the center of the old town area. Very conveniently located with many restaurants nearby.

The hotel itself is in a old building (like many other businesses in the old town area). Some of the floors many not be even. The public area, the room and the hotel restaurant are all very clean. The bedding is very comfortable.

Breakfast was provided at the restaurant on the ground floor. English breakfast was served buffet style with cooked to order eggs.

I didn't check if they have any exercise facilities. Instead, I just saunter around the charming old town nearby.

WIFI is kinda odd. They only allow two devices. (I have 3 devices but I didn't bother to ask for more WIFI connections.)

Room Tip: Choose a room that is facing outside instead of the inner court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank my8286432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Mike Y

Thank you for your review, we were pleased to see that you had a good stay with us recently and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable.

Cambridge is a great place to explore and see the beautiful historical buildings.

We hope that next time you are in town we will have another opportunity to look after you.

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well situated on the edge of Parkers Piece and only a 10 to 15 minute walk to the city centre. We found all the staff to be polite and helpful. Our room was clean, with working, if somewhat noisy air conditioning. Would have given it 5. But room a bit small and lacking in storage space for the price. That said prices for most hotel accommodation in Cambridge appears to be over the average.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dougie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Dougie D

Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are so glad that you had a great stay and you found my team to be polite and helpful.

Thank you for your comment about the air conditioning system we will certainly get this checked out.

To get the best rates its advisable to book our Advance purchase rates to get the best deals, when you take into consideration our free parking, high speed wifi and breakfast this really is great value.

I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon,

Thank you again

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Having read the reviews we thought we would stay at this hotel.The location is good next to the swimming pool which is a bonus, the staff though nice are over friendly and our room was clean but not as nice as we were expecting.The layout was back to front.The breakfast was something resembling school dinners, poor quality and cold.

Room Tip: arrive early so you can change rooms if need be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepak c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear deepak c

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit with us with regards to the style of the room and breakfast.

We ensure that the photos on display are a true representative of what you receive, however if this is not to your liking then we will gladly find you an alternative.

I am sorry I don’t understand your comment about the layout being back to front?

Please accept my apologies with regards to the quality of the breakfast; again if this was not up to standard we would have replaced this for you if we had known.

There were no other comments during your stay with regards to the quality of breakfast, so this may have been a one off.

As I am sure you will understand from seeing the recent refurbishment of the Atrium and Reception areas, we are all about quality, so we would have really welcomed the opportunity to have put this right for you.

However I hope that this did not spoil your stay and I can assure you I will be taking this up with my team.

Thank you again for taking the time.

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing