We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed for two nights in a very comfortable room with a great view of Parker's Piece. The staff were wonderful, starting with the very helpful lady who took our telephone booking and on to the staff in reception and the waitress in the dining room for breakfast. It was a very refreshing experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear John651

Thank you so much for your lovely review, my team and I are delighted to see that you had a great stay with us.

Nothing gives us more pleasure than to provide the best service we can to our valued guests such as yourself.

Thanks for taking the time, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    607
    200
    46
    28
See reviews for
228
792
93
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed recently for a birthday break and had a wonderful stay.
Room was spacious, clean and had all the amenities you could ask for (the toiletries in the bathroom were particularly lovely).
Bed was massive and there was even a pillow menu, should the pillow types provided be not to your liking.
Breakfast was plentiful and served by the friendliest staff. Nothing was too much for them and all done with a smile.
Hotel was very easy to find and is a short ten minute walk to the centre of Cambridge and all the colleges. Great parking to boot.

We will return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLA94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear RLA94

Thank you for your great review,

We are so pleased to see that you found us to be well located and with friendly staff, please know I will be passing on your comments to them and they too will be really pleased to see that you had a great stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cambridge is fantastic for Christmas shopping and if you need anyone to carry your bags just let us know it will be our pleasure!

Thanks again

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked into the Gonville Hotel for 2-nights celebrating our 43rd Wedding Anniversary. We found the Hotel through TripAdvisor. We liked the reports and its location in the centre of Cambridge. It was easy to locate and has its own car park. Our room ( 220) was large with King size bed over looking the Park. We booked on a B&B basis, with a considerable discount offered by the Hotel on the second night. There was a good choice on the breakfast with full English if you wanted it. The staff were very friendly and gave excellent service during our stay. The first night we eat in the Hotel Antrim Resturant which was excellent with a good Menu and choice. The second night we decided to eat out following recommendations by the Receptionist on good restaurants to visit in Cambridge. We eat at De-Luca an Italian within walking distance and were not disappointed. The Hotel is well positioned as a base to tour Cambridge, which we did. Make sure you take a guided Punt along the river Cam to find out all about the University Colleges.

Room Tip: Select rooms overlooking the Park.
See more room tips
Green Features: We noticed near the lift smart separate bins to segregate waste items.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Peter S,

Thank you so much for your great review, we are so pleased you chose us to celebrate your 43rd Wedding Anniversary – Congratulations!

We are so pleased that you found the team to be excellent and thank you for sharing your photos they look great!

We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back soon, maybe for a spot of Christmas shopping!?

Thanks again

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed here for one night on business. Having stayed somewhere else in Cambridge and had a dire experience this was a refreshing change for the better. The room was comfortable, with the normal facilities you would expect for a one night business stay. The breakfast was ok - I say ok because the scrambled egg (cooked to order) was overwhelmingly salty. The waiter did offer me a replacement but it was too late. Other than that the stay was fine, with friendly staff

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOP_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear HOP_8

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, Please accept my sincere apologies for only being “Pretty good” this is certainly not what we want or why we work here.

Our vision is to be the best!

Please know that I have discussed your comments at length with our Head Chef and improvements will be made to the scrambled eggs. More training will be given to ensure that this is back up to our usual high standard.

I hope that on your return to Cambridge you will decide to stay with us again and you will see an improvement made with regards to the breakfast.

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A lovely well appointed and beautifully furnished hotel, convenient for the City Centre and in walking distance of the historic tourist landmarks. The rooms were tastefully and luxuriously appointed and it was a great touch having TV speaker in the bathroom. The beds and bedding were the most comfortable we have experienced and we are well travelled. We appreciated the turn down service The breakfast was very good. Freshly cooked full English, piping hot and waiter served. The cereal choice was a little disappointing. I like my branded cereals in boxes and it would have been nice to be able to warm the croissants but this aside the service in the restaurant was excellent. Check in was freindly and courteous and on the day of check out we were able to leave our car free of charge in the car park when we went for a last walk around the city. It is great luxury to be able to park free of charge in Cambridge city centre. All in all a fantastic stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank DiscerningofMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear DiscerningofMold

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

We are really pleased to see that you found our hotel to be in a great location and tastefully decorated.

From the type of soap to the colour of the walls everything receives the same amount of attention to detail to ensure it is exceptional quality.

I have a really passionate team working with me who love to do their best for each guest, so its always great to hear that this is being well received.

Thank you for your comments re the cereal we will certainly look into this, we do try to avoid using unnecessary packaging from a green point of view however there maybe something we can do here.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was perfect, great location, nice stroll across the park into the centre. Staff extremely helpful and polite. Rooms clean and modern. Bar needs updating but apart from that perfect hotel for visit to Cambridge, would recommend and visit again

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craven1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Craven1608

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review,

We are so pleased that you found the hotel to be in a great location and close to the centre as well as being clean and modern.

Please know that I will be passing your comments back to my team who will also be delighted.

We are soon to update the Bar its on my list! Hopefully in time for when you come back to visit.

Thanks again

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

For our anniversary me and my husband treated ourselves to stay at the Gonville, and were thoroughly impressed!

This hotel is beautifully furnished with friendly staff who were willing to help, and a lovely dinning area. Very convenient for all Cambridge amenities.

If you stay I recommend eating there, there are lots of places in Cambridge, but the food was amazing. We enjoyed a dinner of pork followed by desert (both beautifully presented), and made sure we were up for a delicious breakfast the next day.

I am shocked this hotel is not 5 star, having stayed one night I very much wished I could have stayed longer at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: No tips, you just can't go wrong with this lovely hotel!
See more room tips
Green Features: Good recycling habits encouraged! Nothing more to add.
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EHopkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear EHopkin

Wow! Thank you so much for your fantastic review, we are all delighted to see that you had a great stay with us and found my team to be friendly and helpful, nothing gives us more pleasure to know that you had a lovely time with us!

It is certainly our aim to be the best in Cambridge and something we don’t take lightly, from service to the food everything needs to be right.

Thank you for sharing your comments and taking the time, we hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back again.

Happy Anniversary!

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing