We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“five out of five all round”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“five out of five all round”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Just stayed a this hotel. Having just traveled england on holidays we found this hotel to have been the best hotel we stayed in. Great staff, great location. really nice room. Off street parking. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RwRoddie, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
My Staff and I are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been striving to improve, particularly in Customer care, having completed the extensive. refurbishment of many bedrooms. We look forward to elcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    614
    206
    48
    29
See reviews for
235
811
93
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seasider in Scunthorpe
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Having just slated the Best Western in Oxford, this one deseves praise. Very efficient staff. Lovely modern bedroom with climate control & a modern bathroom. The breakfast buffet items were very good but the quality of the full English breakfast was poor. Shame! It let the rest of the place down. Pricey but probably average for Cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangerinebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I found the Gonville Hotel to be a very comfortable and clean hotel, conveniently located close to Cambridge city centre, and with the added bonus of ample car parking, which is a vital factor in Cambridge. The only niggle was traffic noise from the main road, but the hotel management can do nothing about that.

The hotel staff were polite and helpful, and I was particularly impressed by the staff on duty at breakfast and for the evening meal, who were efficient, unobtrusive and smartly turned out. The food was of a very high standard, and the dining rooms were well furnished and decorated.

My room was a single, and it was spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cirentrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim,Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We needed an affordable hotel with parking in the centre of Cambridge in July and got lucky with the Gonville. Our double was spacious and clean, as was the ensuite, we had a nice view of a tree outside, it was quiet - a really good stay. The beds could have been harder, but I've come to expect soft matresses in the UK, I guess it's just what you're used to.
Best of all is the large car park in front of the hotel, right in the centre of Cambridge that's priceless.
Since there's lots of road work in Cambridge right now, I had emailed the Gonville and had asked about the best route to take and got a friendly reply with detailed information which was highly appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MannheimTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed at the Gonville Hotel recently and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. We where in one of the newly refurbished rooms and it was certainly 4/5 star standard which exceeded our expectations, everything was very clean too. Another huge benefit of this hotel is the free parking on offer especially as Cambridge is an expensive place to park and not car friendly. Breakfast was served quickly, tasty and hot. Unlike another hotel we stayed at close by, we will definately be using the Gonville again as the staff made us feel welcome and its great location. I left a comment card for the manager saying how lovely our stay was on checkout and was very impressed to have a prompt reply from the Operations manager saying how they have implemented positive changes based on valued guest feedback. In our opinion this is a hotel that cares and is well worth a visit if staying in Cambridge.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DST484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I stayed at the Gonville in June and was pleased to see that it had updated its rooms. The room I had was very comfortable and modern. I had a fast full English breakfast and found all the staff very helpful. The best thing about this hotel is that you can park and also easily walk into the center of town.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCreperieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Just back from a two night bed and breakfast stay. The room was spotlessly clean air conditioned and well fitted with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was super.
Breakfast offered a good choice and was freshly cooked to order.
The staff were very friendly and attentive.
Will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank page1475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing