We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much worse than the other Best Western in the city”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The only plus of this hotel is its location in the very city center of Cambridge. But the rooms are dark, the staff is not very nice and the breakfast is not the best in the world. But you can even reach railway station on foot. The corridors are very narrow and even the beauty of the buildng itself can' t let me this hotel good rate.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacekg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,747 - 1,753 of 1,881 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

great stay, perfect location with parking. good food, great staff, just on edge of city centre in great setting.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelledeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

This Hotel is a great place to stay as it is in the heart of the city and opposite to parkers piece. Its close to the mill road which has so many restaurants like Italian,Indian,Turkish, Mediterranean,Chinese, Korean, and Algerian food. Parking is free where as in other hotels parking may be more than $35. Cambridge University is close by, City center is walkable distance. I loved every moment of my stay, such a wonderful experience. Excellent staff.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The hotel was DIRTY - 12 cigarette ends within 2 feet (60 cm) of the front door IN VARYING STAGES OF DECAY. I don't think the shirt of the man I saw working outside (but not brushing up the cigarette ends) had seen the inside of a washing machine for some weeks.

Front door mat thick with grit. Dead leaves and small twigs inside the porch. The porch was internal - inside the front door. It was completely enclosed by roof, walls and door, so the only way debris could blow in was through the door. I stayed during a heatwave. It was almost windless, so I think the dead leaves and twigs had been in the porch for some time.

Fluff on carpets in public part of hotel (duty manager asserted all carpets were hoovered every day). SIMILAR fluff in SIMILAR places next day.

In my bedroom it was the SAME fluff in the SAME place the next day plus any new dirt that came in on my shoes.

The room was so small, that if two people had stayed in it and had brought a suitcase, they could not have accessed both sides of the double bed. (The only place to store the suit case was on one side of the double bed.)

The "Wardrobe" resembled an exposed towel rail (a silvery metal rail, bent at 90 degrees about 5-6 inches from each end) and screwed to the wall in the narrow space opposite the shower room, just inside room door - without even a curtain to cover the clothes. Anyone walking past the clothes risked brushing against them.

No drawers at all in the bedroom. Bras and knickers, tights and
handkerchieves (clean and used) all had to hang on the horizontal bars of the hangers on the exposed "wardrobe", just inside the door.

Only one set of towels for a double room. I heard 2 sets of couples complain to reception that there was only ONE set of towels for TWO people.

There was just ONE disposable plastic "cup" in the bathroom - the kind of plastic throw-away cup you get at a water cooler. Neither this cup nor the minimal toiletries were replaced the next day.

There was only a shower, no bath.

The duty manager said that he was satisfied with everything I pointed out and that he must be doing something right "because we're fully booked tonight".

He was right about that, because the Imperial War Museum at Duxford was having an Air Display that weekend, so the whole of Cambridge was fully booked.

It cost £134.50 a night and I had to insert a card to switch the lights on. I had to put the plastic door key into a slot to get electricity. I have done that in cheap joints at £20-£30 a night - not at £134.50 a night.

[A few months ago, I stayed in Seven Mile Beach - a prime tourist destination in the Caribbean. The room was MORE than TWICE the size. It had a BATH and a SHOWER, a proper recessed wardrobe and 2 huge chests of drawers plus a fridge. Every day a pile of about 4 bath towels and 4 hand towels was replenished, together with unlimited toiletries. The maids, who cleaned the room, switched on the airconditioning to ensure it was cool when the guests returned. All the outdoor staff wore a distinctive uniform - clean every day - and the gardener had a long-handled dust pan and brush to removes leaves and twigs from the lawn. The LAWN at Seven Mile Beach got better cleaning than the INTERIOR OF THE HOTEL at Best Western Gonville in Cambridge.]

Best Western Gonville declined to give a discount. The discount offered by the hotel at Seven Mile Beach meant it averaged about £30 (about 20-25%) cheaper per night than the Best Western Gonville.

The lesson is NEVER to stay at a hotel where ANY of the management team is satisfied with the worst performance it can get away with.

THE ENTIRE ETHOS OF THIS HOTEL IS BASED ON MEAN-NESS. IT IS BASED ON HOW MUCH THEY CAN CHARGE AND HOW LITTLE THEY CAN DELIVER.

A hotel guest (perhaps that should read LAMB TO BE FLEECED) paying £134.50 a night was worth only ONE DISPOSABLE PLASTIC CUP TO LAST THE DURATION OF THE STAY. This one example sums up the hotel.

This hotel gives A VERY UNWELCOMING MESSAGE (and the manager I spoke with appeared to be PROUD OF DOING SO).

This hotel damages the reputation of the UK's TOURIST INDUSTRY. Hence, it damages the livlihoods of everyone working in the sector.

Below I'm encouraged to tick a box describing the hotel's style. If they had a box marked "Bad beyond belief" I'd tick that one.

To be fair to the chef, the breakfast was good, but certain items were rationed by the waiting staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamblingRose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Just stayed a this hotel. Having just traveled england on holidays we found this hotel to have been the best hotel we stayed in. Great staff, great location. really nice room. Off street parking. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RwRoddie, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2010

My Staff and I are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been striving to improve, particularly in Customer care, having completed the extensive. refurbishment of many bedrooms. We look forward to elcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Having just slated the Best Western in Oxford, this one deseves praise. Very efficient staff. Lovely modern bedroom with climate control & a modern bathroom. The breakfast buffet items were very good but the quality of the full English breakfast was poor. Shame! It let the rest of the place down. Pricey but probably average for Cambridge.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tangerinebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I found the Gonville Hotel to be a very comfortable and clean hotel, conveniently located close to Cambridge city centre, and with the added bonus of ample car parking, which is a vital factor in Cambridge. The only niggle was traffic noise from the main road, but the hotel management can do nothing about that.

The hotel staff were polite and helpful, and I was particularly impressed by the staff on duty at breakfast and for the evening meal, who were efficient, unobtrusive and smartly turned out. The food was of a very high standard, and the dining rooms were well furnished and decorated.

My room was a single, and it was spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cirentrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
933 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £121 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing