We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK rooms, terrible breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A much maligned town, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK rooms, terrible breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

The hotel is well located and the free parking is very helpful in a congested place like Cambridge. The room we were in was a little small but was well designed to use the space well, and was well decorated in a contemporary style. The receptionist was absolutely fantastic and extremely helpful. However, the big down side was breakfast which was shambolic and a great disappointment. The staff did not communicate at all, yet managed to be disapproving when we did not realise that the tea and coffee were self service (having not told us this, or where to get them). They also ran out of food, and tried to clear our plates before we had finished, which didn't help. The room was organised so badly that it was impossible to sit down without disturbing other people. For this sort of price and hotel I would expect a lot better.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marconi_sparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    587
    196
    45
    28
See reviews for
222
771
86
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

this hotel was ok but nothing special ,having always stayed at best westerns was dissapointed by this one.
you could park for free which was good and it was only about a 10 min walk to the town centre,however the breakfast was very poor for the cooked option (englich breakfast) over cooked and we got to the point when we only ordered bacon.. the bar prices were high and a very limited menu.
new bedrooms but the pillows were so hard ,had to ditch them for the cushions on the chairs.
would not bother again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

I Was staying with Best Western Gonville Hotel from 5th Sept to 11th Sept 2010. The only plus point of the hotel is its location. Its located in the heart of Cambridge... City Center is like hardly 5 - 10 mins walking distance...... Surrounded by Restaurants... Pubs....Parks.... and pretty close to the Cambs River / Channel......
The rooms were ok.... the Heater was not working in any of the rooms..... Window of one of the rooms where my colleague was staying would not shut......
No facilities what so ever..... no Mini Bar in the rooms.... the phone in my room was non functional......
Staff was pretty Lousy and did not bother.....
Restaurant was very very average..... food quality was not so good......
overall this property is absolutely avoidable.....
stay here only if you want to be close to the city center......

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam_p_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Gonville for one night when we stayed in Cambridge in order to break a journey from the south to our home in the north of England. The hotel was conveniently situated about ten to fifteen minutes walk from the centre of Cambridge. There was ample free on-site parking. We spent a pleasant afternoon strolling round and visiting the many and varied shops.
The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Our room was a good size and very comfortable. Breakfast was substantial and tasty.
Will certainly stay again when next in Cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

I've previously stayed at Doubletree which is good but charges swingeing sums for parking. Gonville is more basic but we had clean, comfortable and spacious room, plus free parking and free wifi. Staff v. friendly too. I think this is as good as you can get at this price. Did not sample breakfast or other meals.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheProfessorOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We have just returned from a two night weekend break at the Gonville hotel.

The free spacious car park is a bonus as other city centre hotel seem to have costly parking fees.

The location is ideal, just a five minute walk to the main shopping area and restaurants can be found on the walk to the centre - adjacent to Parkers Pieces green.

I asked for a newly refurbished bedroom and was very happy with this. The bed was so comfortable. We had a flat screen TV with Freeview channels to choose from. The bathroom was new but only contained a walk in shower not a bath.

Breakfast was a help your self buffet of cereal, fruit, yoghurt ham, cheese, breads and pastries, with the cooked breakfast ordered at your table and brought direct from the kitchen.

I was very happy with our hotel choice and if visiting Cambridge again will definately stay here.

For those visiting with their own transport I recommend the short drive to the village of Grantchester to enjoy tea at the Orchard Tea gardens - lovely in nice weather to sit amongst the apple trees, then take an enjoyable stroll along the river towards Cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

The only plus of this hotel is its location in the very city center of Cambridge. But the rooms are dark, the staff is not very nice and the breakfast is not the best in the world. But you can even reach railway station on foot. The corridors are very narrow and even the beauty of the buildng itself can' t let me this hotel good rate.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacekg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed. Our team has also changed to fit with our values of: Excellence / Ownership / Integrity / Commitment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing