We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of The Lensfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lensfield
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed at the Lensfield for six nights in July 2012 and overall, the reviews from the last couple of years paint an accurate picture of the hotel. It's not a luxury hotel, and because it's fused and reconfigured terrace houses, the rooms are very small. They are not, as the hotel advises "on the small side". They are tiny. But they have everything, even if the furnishings are a bit dated. On the plus side the hotel is well managed by profesional staff, is very clean and is in a great location.

But there are a couple of negatives - all of which have been remarked on. The room I was in was very warm, even with the windows open I slept without a sheet over me. But leaving the window open wasn't desireable either, because the road at the front is a very busy ring road. With the windows open it was impossible to sleep through the night without being woken by a vehicle or pedestrian. Because of the peculiarities of the building the hallways are narrow and th stairs are narrown and winding. I wouldn't think the elederly or infirm would feel particularly comfortable on the stairs.

I am also at a loss to understand why anyone would criticise the breakfast. It's sensational. The food served didn't change in the six nights I was there, but the quantity, quality and variety of the food couldn't have been better. The quiches and dessert dishes were odd, but the continental choices and hot selection were sensational.

Would I stay there again? The experience wasn't so positive that I would make the Lensfield my automatic choice for the next visit. I'd look around, but ultimately if the Lensfield represented the best value, I'd be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: In summer, don't accept a room at the front of the hotel. The noise from the traffic is very in...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markjackson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for The Lensfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed at the Lensfield for one night to attend a wedding. The hotel is functional, well run and the staff are very polite and helpful. Its clean, the bed was comfortable and it did feel the room had been recently refurbed. The cooked breakfast is over rated regards the quality of ingreadients but the choice included chocolate gateaux, pork pies etc which does seem a little strange.

So in all, it was perfect for what we needed and you would be hard pressed to find similar in the centre of Cambridge without paying a lot more. However, its not a hotel you'll create any emotional attachment to. Its functional and fits the bill if you just need a base in Cambridge for a night or two.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ctw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I was booked into the Lensfield for a business trip. It is located conveniently to the centre of town. The staff was extremely friendly, the decor is a bit old-fashioned but not dated or dingy. In fact, it was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, a full British style meal. The noise between rooms is the only thing that was a bit bothersome, one of my colleagues had difficulty sleeping because you hear every sound from next door and above. Overall I would recommend it though.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harmon60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Probably the polite description of this hotel is "quirky". It's within walking distance of Cambridge city centre and if you time your arrival well you can park for free at the front of the hotel.
Our room was small, but OK for two nights - a bit of a struggle to find anywhere to pile the numerous cushions that we had to take off the bed before going to sleep. The bedcover was stained, although the sheets were clean. There was a flat screen TV, free wifi and a clock-radio with Ipod dock, but everything else felt quite dated. The biggest problem was the pale curtains, which meant that the first night we woke when it got light - around 4.30. The second night we made good use of the unpleasant bedcover & tucked that into the curtain rail! We were at the back so there was no road noise, but we could hear quite a lot of talking which we weren’t sure if it came from other guests or staff.
Breakfast was OK – cooked & continental options, but slightly odd that when helping yourself to the buffet a member of staff had to take the lid off the hot food for you. We tried the bar one night – but tiny, no atmosphere and very small selection of drinks. We would recommend The Snug just along the road – great cocktail selection!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will avoid road noise. As someone else commented 157 is a bit of a squash for two...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzigun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were lucky enough to get one of the 5 parking spaces which was great. Friendly greeting on arival. Room was fine, not as small as I had read in some of the reviews. Breakfast was excellent. Good location about 5/10 minute walk to the centre. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouse10Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My boyfriend and I recently spent one night at The Lensfield Hotel and overall were fairly pleased. Our arrival was slightly tarnished by Cambridge councils parking situation (only parking we could find locally was 50 pence for every 10 minutes with a maximum 2 hours), although when we mentioned this to the receptionist on checkin, she arranged for one of the cars on the hotel driveway to be moved and we parked there for free, which was very helpful (I believe the 4-5 spaces outside the hotel are on a first come first served basis, so beware of Cambridge council if you don't get one of these!). The room itself was very small (although we had been told this when we booked), but was comfortable and clean. The decor was a bit dated and a little shabby, but we have been told their are having a full refurb, which I think is due. The bed was comfortable and then breakfast was excellent. Personally, as a vegetarian, I prefer a continental breakfast to cooked and was pleasantly suprised by the offering of fresh fruits, yoghurts, cheeses etc, as well as the usual cooked options. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. It was also a great location, within 5-10 minutes walk of Kings College and the city centre. I would consider staying again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: We choose a room at the front of the hotel, which was a little bit noisy due to the road outside, bu...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharkgirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

To be fair the booking confirmation said "Please note that our rooms are on the small size", but that didn't quite prepare me for the reality. The tiny shower cubicle opens directly into the room, and there's no towel rail, so damp towels ended up on top of my suitcase - which occupied almost the entire floor space. This was a "standard double bedded room for single occupancy".

The room was not cheap (£98) but the alternatives were either much more expensive, or miles out of town. I didn't come by car, so the very limited parking was not an issue. Despite all of that, I enjoyed my stay - breakfast was fine, and staff were pleasant. Wifi was free but unreliable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
914 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lensfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensfield

Address: 53 Lensfield Road, Cambridge CB2 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £100 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lensfield 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Lensfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lensfield Hotel Cambridge
Lensfield Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing