We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of The Lensfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lensfield
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed here one night. The staff are very friendly, the location is good (10 minutes on foot from the train station and same thing to the center of town, and several restaurants even closer by). Breakfast was quite good as well. The room was clean, cosy and spacious enough, with tea and coffee. However, the walls are paper thin and we could hear every single word the neighbours said, and of course their TV... In addition, the garbage truck woke us up early in the morning and there are no shutters.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seasondtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

This family run hotel is - how shall I put it - full of character. OK for a 1 night stay - but any longer (unless you upgrade your room) would, for me, be impossible.The room I stayed in was probably the smallest I have ever stayed in - "swinging a cat" was a definite impossibility - even a mouse would be difficult. The hotel was also exceptionally hot - super hot in fact. And if you come by car, be aware that there are only 5 parking places - so arrive early. However the breakfast is great, the room (small as it maybe) is well equipped, and the location is great (easy walking distance to the centre of Cambridge.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OlderGuy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

very close to the city center only 10 minutes walk little problem with parking during the day this family run hotel is a good base to see Cambridge some rooms are very small but all of them are clean and had everything we needed good breakfast but nothing special down in the basement the hotel is run by a pleasant Greek origin family that is always there to help

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor look better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Helpful service; less than 10 min walk to central Cambridge; 5 private parking spaces (although prob have to arrive early to get one; I was lucky but arrived at 12pm); single room 133 on the 2nd floor was very compact, but clean, and had everything one could need: TV, coffee making facilities; stereo; a/c & heating (remote controlled); cupboard, chair, stool, dressing table. Breakfast fine, although the dining room is in the basement. £72pppn is good value compared to other central Cambridge hotels. Not sure if the curtains hanging above the heater/bedside light might be a fire hazard, but presumably not?! Apart from that small reservation, all was great.

Room Tip: Room 133 was fine, albeit small. Outlook was fine, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed one night, in Room 132. We had a wonderful welcome, were personally shown to our room rather than be pointed in the direction of it.... and it was a very pleasant room! One thing some might find negative was the window didn't appear to shut properly but we leave the window open at night so no problem to us. We managed to get a parking space outside too.

The room was very clean and smelled fresh. Very pleasant. We had everything we needed including tea making facilities. Towels were lovely and white and fluffy. Ok it was a little dated but at the end of the day it was VERY clean and VERY quiet

The hotel was centrally located which was fab.

When we went for breakfast there was a massive spread including a well cooked full english. We had a lovely stay considering the price etc. We were surprised at number of other people in for breakfast as didn't see more than 2 people around! A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelama1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Excellent location, easy walking into town. Five minutes walk to The Oak Bridge Restaurant (really recommend it!). Great friendly reception staff, why the staff member was holding open the bain marie's at breakfast was beyond me. Did she think we would take too much food??!! In keeping with Cambridge, the building is old and consequently it's got narrow, rabbit warren passageways but that just adds to its character. The bed was firm/hard and pillows were like rocks. Great for a short-stay but that would be about it.

Room Tip: We had a executive deluxe room - whatever that means!! Room was a decent size, shower had good pres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RobertF619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We're trying different hotels each time we drop our son back at Cambridge and this hotel was better than some in terms of the location, the price and the breakfast. The room had everything we needed for a comfortable night's stay but was very small and with the window open we could hear the people in the next room so there wasn't much privacy. If we could be sure of a bigger room we would stay again but I fear that most are very cramped. The breakfast was lovely and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spatchlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
933 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lensfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensfield

Address: 53 Lensfield Road, Cambridge CB2 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £103 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lensfield 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Lensfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lensfield Hotel Cambridge
Lensfield Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing