We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but dated decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lensfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lensfield
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good value but dated decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

First the good points, the staff were all very pleasant, its offers free parking, is relatively reasonably priced for Cambridge, is well located, just 10 minutes from the centre and the bed was very comfortable. Downside is that the rooms are decorated in a very dated fashion and yes they had a knitted toilet roll cover in the bathroom - my mum would have loved it. Breakfast was fine, although it seemed odd that it was only available until 9am on a Sunday.Overall I'd probably stay again though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorwichCarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    120
    93
    42
    25
See reviews for
42
107
56
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I booked two nights in this hotel because other (better) hotels were too expensive on those days. The first night I changed two rooms because of a loud noise coming from the above floors or roof. The night receptionists agreed that the noise was too loud and kindly helped me offering other rooms (in the end I was upgraded to a better room). They also gave me a full refund for the second night, as I left after the first night. Nobody seemed to know where the noise came from, so it is possible that that was just an isolated incident. However, because of this very bad experience, I will not go back to this hotel. The breakfast quality is quite low. The floors are also very squeaky, so that from your room you can hear people walking in the corridors as well as other rooms. My suggestion is to look for better and normally more expensive hotels, which, however, very often offer very good deals. That said, the reception staff were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: I tried three rooms and none was noise free, therefore I would not know what to suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borto_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed in a single room which I found quite comfortable. The good location within strolling distance to eateries and shops, the good water pressure in the shower, and the comfortable bed will tempt me to stay there again. I was given a quiet room at the back of the hotel as requested, which made for a peaceful nice's sleep - however as there is no lift it would have been better not to have been on the top floor, as carrying luggage up and down the narrow staircase was difficult. Breakfast was adequate and the staff serving were very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danusia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The age range of our group of ladies was from early 40s to well over 60s and we chose the Lensfield as it was within walking distance of the shops and evening eateries and reasonably priced. We had booked 2 twin and 1 single room and had asked that the rooms to be near to each other but were disappointed to find that the single room was on the other side of the hotel to the other two. Although the décor of the rooms was a little old fashioned they were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and we found all the staff in the hotel very pleasant and helpful. We were lucky to be able to use one of the five parking spaces outside the hotel and this was a bonus for us. We will certainly stay at the Lensfield again next time we visit Cambridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

First the good news: the bed was quite comfortable. Nothing special, but quite comfortable. Anyone with a dodgy back is grateful for this. And I was given a quiet room as requested. But then the bad news: the room was horribly decorated (unless you like very, very old-fashioned) the breakfast poor, and was only served until 9am - very odd. The bathroom in my room was tiny, and for the 1950s-style toilet to flush in the top storey of this Victorian building, the handle had to be yanked with considerable force. Most of the staff were nice, but when I pointed out that for these prices, the hotel should at least upgrade the bathrooms, the person at reception (who may well have been one of the family that owns this hotel) tried to persuade me that there was nothing at all unusual about a toilet that barely flushes. Not a hint of an apology. Apart from this, the carpets and general decor in the room and elsewhere, except for reception, were extremely dated. Given that this hotel cost approx. £98 per night, it should not be too much to ask for something a bit better than this. Granted, there seem to be very few hotels in Cambridge, but this does not excuse the high prices and comparative lack of quality. This was really far more like an old-fashioned guesthouse. Fine, if that's what you're looking for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hüpfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Good location, nice breakfast. Décor like a posh grandma's house. Room a reasonable size and clean. Had a few problems with my reservation but after many back and forth emails we managed to sort it out. Helpful receptionist gave me number for takeaway thai restaurant which I had delivered to my room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatstaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
267 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I had made a mistake in the reservations for another hotel in Cambridge, so they referred us to the Lensfield. We were just thankful to have a room, but were pleasantly surprised that it was quite a great hotel and a great value, as well (£99/night). The room was small and had more furniture than a guest would need (a vanity + 2 chests of drawers?) but it had all the amenities and they served a great breakfast.

Not all of the rooms have air conditioners. It was quite warm when we arrived and we asked for one with A/C, which thankfully they provided.

Importantly, they have parking right in front of the hotel and the location is just 4-5 minutes from the university.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolnRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#20 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lensfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensfield

Property: The Lensfield
Address: 53 Lensfield Road, Cambridge CB2 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lensfield 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lensfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lensfield Hotel Cambridge
Lensfield Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing