We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel close to town centre”
Review of The Lensfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lensfield
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel close to town centre”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here twice in August 2013 & it's a charming hotel. Staff friendly & helpful, excellent breakfast & a nice little patio at the front to sit out, have a drink & watch the world go by. Limited parking but we always managed to get a space. Just a few minutes from the centre of Cambridge - an ideal base for exploration of this delightful city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grasmi909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    131
    100
    45
    26
See reviews for
45
119
58
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
923 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This hotel is getting worse. Since our last visit I think they have invested all their time and effort in a new health spa - and let the hotel continue to slide down the slippery slop towards "unacceptable". EXTREMELY small rooms, slightly dirty (odd things scattered on the toilet floor), in a mid-50's style (but not in a nice way) - have you seen the spare toilet role held in a hand knitted cover recently?? As for the shower, well the shower head only came up to my chest, and given the space available it made washing my hair extremely challenging. As for the owners using the reception hall as their family front room - well you feel like an uninvited interloper. The breakfast remains OK - but that remains the last bastion of "acceptable in the hotel. We will be looking for a new hotel for our next stay in Cambridge,

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms - the small rooms are REALLY REALLY SMALL
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlderGuy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

First the good points, the staff were all very pleasant, its offers free parking, is relatively reasonably priced for Cambridge, is well located, just 10 minutes from the centre and the bed was very comfortable. Downside is that the rooms are decorated in a very dated fashion and yes they had a knitted toilet roll cover in the bathroom - my mum would have loved it. Breakfast was fine, although it seemed odd that it was only available until 9am on a Sunday.Overall I'd probably stay again though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorwichCarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I booked two nights in this hotel because other (better) hotels were too expensive on those days. The first night I changed two rooms because of a loud noise coming from the above floors or roof. The night receptionists agreed that the noise was too loud and kindly helped me offering other rooms (in the end I was upgraded to a better room). They also gave me a full refund for the second night, as I left after the first night. Nobody seemed to know where the noise came from, so it is possible that that was just an isolated incident. However, because of this very bad experience, I will not go back to this hotel. The breakfast quality is quite low. The floors are also very squeaky, so that from your room you can hear people walking in the corridors as well as other rooms. My suggestion is to look for better and normally more expensive hotels, which, however, very often offer very good deals. That said, the reception staff were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: I tried three rooms and none was noise free, therefore I would not know what to suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borto_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed in a single room which I found quite comfortable. The good location within strolling distance to eateries and shops, the good water pressure in the shower, and the comfortable bed will tempt me to stay there again. I was given a quiet room at the back of the hotel as requested, which made for a peaceful nice's sleep - however as there is no lift it would have been better not to have been on the top floor, as carrying luggage up and down the narrow staircase was difficult. Breakfast was adequate and the staff serving were very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danusia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The age range of our group of ladies was from early 40s to well over 60s and we chose the Lensfield as it was within walking distance of the shops and evening eateries and reasonably priced. We had booked 2 twin and 1 single room and had asked that the rooms to be near to each other but were disappointed to find that the single room was on the other side of the hotel to the other two. Although the décor of the rooms was a little old fashioned they were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and we found all the staff in the hotel very pleasant and helpful. We were lucky to be able to use one of the five parking spaces outside the hotel and this was a bonus for us. We will certainly stay at the Lensfield again next time we visit Cambridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

First the good news: the bed was quite comfortable. Nothing special, but quite comfortable. Anyone with a dodgy back is grateful for this. And I was given a quiet room as requested. But then the bad news: the room was horribly decorated (unless you like very, very old-fashioned) the breakfast poor, and was only served until 9am - very odd. The bathroom in my room was tiny, and for the 1950s-style toilet to flush in the top storey of this Victorian building, the handle had to be yanked with considerable force. Most of the staff were nice, but when I pointed out that for these prices, the hotel should at least upgrade the bathrooms, the person at reception (who may well have been one of the family that owns this hotel) tried to persuade me that there was nothing at all unusual about a toilet that barely flushes. Not a hint of an apology. Apart from this, the carpets and general decor in the room and elsewhere, except for reception, were extremely dated. Given that this hotel cost approx. £98 per night, it should not be too much to ask for something a bit better than this. Granted, there seem to be very few hotels in Cambridge, but this does not excuse the high prices and comparative lack of quality. This was really far more like an old-fashioned guesthouse. Fine, if that's what you're looking for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hüpfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.6 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lensfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensfield

Property: The Lensfield
Address: 53 Lensfield Road, Cambridge CB2 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lensfield 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Lensfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lensfield Hotel Cambridge
Lensfield Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing