We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Shame About the Management”
Review of The Lensfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lensfield
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a very pleasantly decorated hotel that's convenient for Cambridge town centre. The room was clean and well-equipped, and we were treated well by the breakfast staff, who looked after us very well.

The hotel boasts a new spa and gym. However, the gym consisted of only four cardio machines and we were told that if we wished to use it, we would have to pay £10. What's more, the reception desk carried vouchers for 20% off treatments in the spa, although when my friend came to use one, she was told the discount only applied to shellac nails and Lycon waxing. In my opinion, this was not made explicit on the voucher - far from it. The beautician insisted they'd had their advertising done by professionals and refused to honour the discount.

The 'bar' did not have a relaxing ambiance, despite the couple sleeping in the corner. The lady at the reception desk doubled up as a bartender and was very careful to pour exactly half of the miniature of vodka she got out of the fridge.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel, to be honest.

Room Tip: A side room is probably quieter as there is noise from the nearby bars on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shd132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

11 of us stayed here to clebrate a 50th Birthday. The staff were all very helpful and obliging and as we were checking in early, they made one room available so that we could unload all the luggage and us ladies could then head to the spa and the men to a nearby pub. The spa treatments had been pre-booked and would recommend anyone thinking of having a massage to do the same. We were in an ungraded room which was lovely, stylish and very clean. But it was at the front of the building overlloking the main road which was very noisy. Unfortunately I am a light sleeper and therefore had very little sleep. Breakfast was in all honesty a bit of a joke with 11 of us all wanting to eat together, as the chafing dishes kept running out of food and we had to wait for more to be cooked and brought through. The lady running breakfast was very aware of the situation and ended up taking our orders for eggs and delivering them to our table. Once the table had been cleared, at our request, she brought a trifle to the table with candles for the Birthday Girl, a nice gesture, and yes we all managed to eat trifle at that time of the morning! A good trip, expensive for what it was but would possibly stay again.

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are far superior, book a superior room at the rear and you get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

rooms like box rooms were dirty and had not been cleaned to a basic standard for months, no working chain on the inside of the door, toilet didn't work properly, staff unfriendly.
didn't risk breakfast.
glad to leave.

definitely NOT worth paying a rip off £72 a night for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClassicBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have just noticed that my google review was taken down, so I decided to write one here.
Woke up at 12 to realise that the window in my room was jammed open. Since the window was quite old, it took around 20 minutes to close it. The room was freezing.
Then of course the radiator in the room did not work, so spent the night in a cold room.
The water in the shower was just about warm.
The hairdryer didn't work.
The breakfast was lukewarm with some hair in it.
Staff were ok, but not overly friendly.

All that aside, the rooms are generally clean and the hotel is well-located. I would try to avoid staying here again though, because I find it overpriced given all the problems mentioned above.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carla_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed on Saturday night at The Lensfield having selected it because of the reviews and car parking. We arrived early to secure one of the limited parking spaces (5) but were unfortunate. The external features and reception area were enticing. We struggled to get into our room as the keys were playing up and needed receptionist help on every occasion. All staff were apologetic and friendly and offered us a drink on the house whilst dealing with the issue. Initially the room looked modern and the bed was fresh and clean however lots of TLC is needed for me to write a great review. A handyman for a few hours could sort the frayed carpet leading to the bathroom, the wallpaper pealing off under the window, the mould in the shower, the chipped toilet seat, the missing tassels on the fancy bedding the unhooked curtains letting in the light but most of all the creaking floorboards everywhere. It was difficult to sleep with the people above moving about creaking the floor boards till the early hours and again early the next morning, also if anyone runs a tap or flushes the loo it is incredibly noisy although I have to admit the speaking was only a dull murmur. To summarise it would only take some tender loving care to make this hotel really special, the reception area is lovely, the staff are helpful, the breakfast was plentiful with friendly accommodating staff but to get a good or excellent the finishing touches need to be dealt with.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chipsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We've stayed in several hotels in Cambridge, but always avoided the Lensfield up to now because of its shortage of car parking spaces. But we had no problem and in fact, free hotel parking is pretty hard to come by in the centre of Cambridge anyway. Our hotel room was small but pleasantly quirky and comfortable, and it had everything we needed. Breakfast was good and the place was clean and the staff were friendly. And all for £100 a night - a bargain!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annlaffeaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A drab and soulless hotel. Had a very sleepless night - £72 for a tiny single room. There was absolutely no sound insulation from the room next door - I heard every sneeze and every snore. It was like the person was in the same room! One to avoid in future!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
609 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lensfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensfield

Address: 53 Lensfield Road, Cambridge CB2 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £104 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lensfield 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lensfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lensfield Hotel Cambridge
Lensfield Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing