We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”
Review of The Lensfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lensfield
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

I was there for one night and the hotel provided everything I needed: excellent location and service quite friendly and efficient. The room was small but it was fine: well equipped, clean and comfortable. The limited car parking is a slight drawback, but there are ways round this.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowTie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    131
    100
    45
    27
See reviews for
45
119
58
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed at the Lensfield on a Saturday in August as part of a weekend trip and were very pleased with our choice of hotel.
The hotel does not look very impressive upon arrival as it occupies a small space in a terrace of houses on quite a busy road but once we checked in and made our way to our room we were pleasantly surprised. We chose an Executive room at a cost of £110b&b (the standard double was £99) and the although the room wasn't the largest it was very clean, nicely decorated and the bathroom had clearly been recently modernised and was very smart.
The hotel doesn't offer evening meals which wasn't a problem for us as we had planned to eat out anyway but the breakfast buffet was very good and offered all the usual choices. I must make note of the very efficient serving staff at breakfast who cleared up around you very promptly and politely.
It is quite expensive to stay within walking distance of the city so the £110 actually represented reasonable value for money and I should also mention that the University Botanic Gardens are just around the corner from the hotel and are a lovely spot to walk off the excesses of the night before.
One last point to make is that being on a main road, parking is very limited although we arrived late morning and managed to take one of the free places. There are alternatives but these involve either additional cost or a reasonable walk.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We were so disappointed with the family room we booked for one night. The room itself was small and poorly decorated with wallpaper peeling and paint coming off the ceiling in the bathroom. It bore no resembelence to the smart well appointed rooms shown on their website. The towels must have been purchased in about 1970 they were so thread bare. I asked for a quiet room but spent the night listening to the traffic rumble past the window about 10 feet away! On the plus side the location (although on a busy road) was close to the town centre and the breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrumpyLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Italia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I booked this hotel as I spent a month as a student at the Summer Schools at the University of Cambridge. It has been a very pleasant stay: my single room was small, but nicely decorated and with all facilities provided. It was at the underground floor. Breakfast was good and the hotel is well located, at fifteen minutes walk from the University. So, I would be really pleased to come back and stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScriccioloItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

A very pleasant stay - my single room was not large, but nicely decorated and with all facilities provided. It was at the top of the building , so could have been very hot and claustrophobic, but , hurrah, an air con unit.
Well positioned, less than 10 mins walk from central Cambridge. so perfect for attending graduations at Kings.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeilahCheam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

I booked this accommodation on my business trip. The hotel is located in walking distance from the city centre, very close from bus station and University. Nice, very welcoming deco outside, nice and charming reception. The room was small, but very comfortable with nice and well maintained washroom. However taking a shower was quite a challenge. It had pleasant restaurant, very polite service and good quality breakfast. Only one thing I would change is the attitude of the receptionists. The minimum of culture require stopping “babbling” on the phone while serving clients. Moreover they were not polite, just I had an impression they were unhappy to serve guests. Overall it was cozy, quiet, nice place, a bit expensive, but in the prices range for UK.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumakus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

On the plus side, this hotel is relatively cheap for the location, which is very good, being convenient for pretty much everything. But I found the hotel had rather a 'tired' feel to it. And the room I had was one of the smallest I have ever stayed in - barely room to walk round the bed. Staff were OK, but not particularly friendly or helpful. Breakfast OK but nothing special. Not really a lot to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.6 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lensfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensfield

Property: The Lensfield
Address: 53 Lensfield Road, Cambridge CB2 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lensfield 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Lensfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lensfield Hotel Cambridge
Lensfield Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing