We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friendly staff and good food”
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Ranked #260 of 693 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The George is an 18th century coaching inn at the heart of Babraham, Cambridge.Packed with period features, the George inn has a wide range of ales,spirits and fine wines. Our chefs create freshly prepared meals to be enjoyed in our bar or restaurant areas. To the rear of the pub is a patio area,grass area and a large off street carpark. Lunchtime service Mon-Fri 12pm till 2pm Evening service Mon-Fri 6pm till 9pm Lunchtime service Saturday 12pm till 3pm Evening service Saturday 6pm till 9pm Lunchtime service Sunday 12pm till 4pm Evening drinks only
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good friendly staff and good food”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Since moving to the Cambridge area this has always been our go to pub for lunch and dinner. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The specials change everyday with a good variety to choose from.

It's good value for money comparing it other pub/restaurants in the area. I'd recommend to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MacAppott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    46
    28
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barmouth
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Country Inn”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The atmosphere is good and staff are friendly and polite but some of the meal choices of our party of eight were very small and uninspiring. Pork Belly not nice at all, very small portion and fatty. Goats cheese roulade dry, portion of curry small but tasty best meal in our party seemed to be the haddock and chips option but this is not what you would expect in a restaurant. Cheese board expensive and various desserts were not really up to restaurant standard and quite tasteless. Decaffinated coffee weak, lukewarm and again small amount in cup. I doubt if we would use this restaurant again. No one wanted to complain as it was a family birthday celebration for 4 people, two of whom had milestone birthdays.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sunday roast”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We visited on sunday for my mums 70th birthday.
We were greeted by a young lady that showed us to our table and gave us menus.
She very swiftly took our drinks order and were brought to our table. We were given plenty of time to choose and a very attentive waitress took our order. We all had the roast dinner. On the day, leg of lamb, sirloin of beef or loin of pork was availablw aswel, as around 12 other dishes.
Our meals came after a short wait, on nice warm plates with vegetables in a side dish. All agreed how well cooked the meats and vegetables were! We all a dessert which were a variety of. Traditional pies, crumble etc.
Only thing that let down the visit was it being very cold for thr duration of our visit, the heating was on and the open fire roaring away but a rear door was open most of the time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert_Lindsay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pricey for grub”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Visited for Christmas menu . In spite of pre ordering food delayed and cold Very disappointing
as this Inn had such a good reputation a decade ago. Pricey for what it is - pub grub. Service poor Advise to pay less and go to a really good hotel with atmosphere and have a really good experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Dinner at The George Inn”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Went here for dinner with some friends and we ate from the Christmas menu. It was very good food. Everything was hot and very good quality, all cooked beautifully. The service was excellent. No complaints.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillmenzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

Pampisford, Cambridgeshire
Great Abington, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing