We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Regal

The Regal
Ranked #165 of 683 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Regal is Cambridge's biggest pub, open from 8am daily, serving food until 11pm. We have a huge selection of drinks available, including premium spirits, and international and craft beers. We become a Lloyds No1 Bar on Friday and Saturday nights, with a DJ playing all of your dance floor fillers until 3am. We welcome families until 9pm throughout the week.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It is OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Regal is the biggest pub in Cambridge. It was once cinema but converted to large pub. It's plenty space there. The food is quite good like for a pub, not brilliant but better than in the other pubs. The tables could be cleaned better and the bar too. Overall it's good place to go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carys77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regal_Cambridge, Manager at The Regal, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor. We're glad you enjoy visiting us, and rest assured we will take your comments on board - we're always striving to give the best possible service to our customers.

Many thanks,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    165
    69
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Superior Wetherspoons - good food, service and price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The Regal was once a cinema, but Wetherspoons have sympathetically converted it to a large pub. The atmosphere was good with the pub always busy. The service was quick, the staff friendly and helpful. The food is the best I have had in a Wetherspoons. Staff cleaned the tables as soon as they became free. This is a Wetherspoons so you get what you pay for but it is one of the better ones I have been to.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ted1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regal_Cambridge, Manager at The Regal, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thanks so much for your great review on TripAdvisor!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Regal again soon.

Regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlehampton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good wetherspoons visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A huge pub. Good service at the bar and our food arrived promptly - can't say too much about the food as all Wetherspoons are the same. So if you have eaten in one you have eaten in them all! Ladies loos were very posh - all art deco. Pub is split level and I had my nan with me who is in a wheelchair and there is a lift that took her down to the restaurant part.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hayley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regal_Cambridge, Manager at The Regal, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to The Regal, and look forward to welcoming you back to the pub soon!

Regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wetherspoons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

What a beautiful place to sit and eat and drink. Proper filter coffee at £1.15 refillable is an absolute bargain. The food was good we had the breakfast and because we enjoyed it we went back for late lunch. Popular place so can get very busy. There are two levels, level one has a split level with a few steps, lower part is also where the toilets are located (Art Deco design). The upper level is up a flight of stairs, I'm sorry but I'm not sure if I saw a lift. There is an outside area although small.
Truly a lovely place to go if you in Cambridge

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debsk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regal_Cambridge, Manager at The Regal, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi,

Thanks so much for your lovely comments, and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to The Regal.

I hope to welcome you back to the pub again soon.

Many thanks,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

A welcome place to sit, eat and drink in the centre of the beautiful city of Cambridge, as always in Wetherspoons the food was excellent, served quickly by friendly polite staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank eastbourne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regal_Cambridge, Manager at The Regal, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hi there,

I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to The Regal, and thanks for taking the time to give us a great review on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Many thanks,
Steve
The Regal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Regal also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Regal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing