We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it”
Review of Benson House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benson House
Ranked #21 of 121 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We drove to the Benson house from York and arrived at 13:30 to find the front door locked. We rang the bell several times but got no answer. We walked around back to see if we could find someone (got yelled at by the neighbor for cutting through their yard), no luck. Called on the phone (an expensive call with a US cell phone) and just got the voice mail. After a half hour we decided to leave and head back to London a day early. Then Julie arrived at the door. Told her we were not going to stay. She seemed surprised, charged us the full rate anyway and commented that my drivers license photo "must have been taken a long time ago." Of the 6 places we stayed/planned to stay in the UK, this was the only negative experience. Don't do it.

Room Tip: Find a room at another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    27
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
56
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenora, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I just returned from Benson house in Cambridge. Julie is the person taking care of the guests at Benson House, and I felt our stay was perfect in every way. The location was perfect for us--just half a block from Saint Edmunds College (Cambridge Univ). It is also just across the street from Fitzwilliam College. The centre of town was just over 5 minutes walk from Benson House. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The shower was hot with a large volume of water in a newly refurbished bathroom. The towels were even heated. Julie's breakfast was substantial. We found no reason to eat lunch after eating at Benson house. There are not enough good things to say about Benson House. We were fully satisfied and more.

Room Tip: We are returning to Cambridge and Benson House in October with many family members, so Julie showed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ve3yri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

From the outside of this plain row house you'd never have any idea what well appointed rooms and wonderful breakfasts are behind that facade. Was visiting with an old friend for a Cambridge graduation and our both rooms were great. Not necessarily huge, but fitted out with the quality of a very nice hotel. An easy walk to downtown and the colleges.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in side, but web site will guide you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHK-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed just 1 night (21 May) at ths B&B and found our ensuite room to be well appointed, comfortable, clean and on the ground floor level, which was great considering we had 2 very heavy suit cases and a couple of cabin bags to carry around. Julie's greeting when we arrived was friendly and efficient and she took our car and parked it for us at the rear of the B&B. The provided breakfast choices were good and cooked to order. Benson House is conveniently located to central Cambridge, about a 10 minute walk. Overall, a comfortable and efficiently run B&B in which to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My sone an I shared a twin room for a 2 night stay for a weekend brek in Cambridge. Julie is helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were good, although the room is a bit crowded. We walked into the towncentre in 15 minutes with no problems. Benson house ia a taxi ride from the station as it's on the opposite side of town.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front overlook the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicckM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Benson House is a lovely place to stay. Quite central but peaceful. The owner Julie is a warm,friendly lady,who makes you feel welcome straight away. The rooms are clean and very comfy,tastefully furnished and great value. Breakfast was excellent,lots of choice and well presented. Overall a great place to stay,we will go back!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyaylott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerima-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed two nights at Benson house and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. Very friendly & pleasant proprietor, lovely rooms with first class fixtures and fittings and an amazing breakfast. We would go again. Thank you very much!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,313 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,757 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
692 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson House

Property: Benson House
Address: 24 Huntingdon Road, Cambridge CB3 0HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Benson House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing