We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, already booked for september break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arundel House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, already booked for september break”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

this hotel is a little gem. plenty of free parking, rooms are good size , and are immaculate. breakfast is continental style with option of a full english. staff are friendly , efficient ,. the conservatory at the back is a lovely place to relax with a drink and watch the squirels. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    227
    230
    110
    60
See reviews for
95
249
56
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Ok. Let's start with the positives. In a city that is generally a disaster for driving, the Arundel has an excellent car park in a tremendous location. You can walk everywhere in Central Cambridge, but you generally have to rack up some pretty steep parking fees in order to do so - it's great to be able to drive up, get your bag out of your boot, and be in your room in a couple of minutes.

Now. What else to say?

This is one of those hotels that you stumble across in provincial England now and then which seem very cute from the outside, but discover is an absolute disaster once you cross the threshold. The decor has clearly not changed since your Gran got 'creative' way back in 1968 and there appear to be approximately three times as many rooms as there ought to be, given the size and general upkeep of rooms.

I was somewhat surprised to be treated as such an annoyance when I had just checked in - I'm sorry, would you mind terribly if... excuse me, would you be so kind as to tell me where my room is? I apologise, but would it be too much trouble to give me access to the internet? - but even receptionists have bad days, especially when you check in late. I wasn't quite prepared for the surliness at breakfast (it's far, far too early for that 7am scowl, madam) but perhaps it was a tacit warning not to bother with the tired fruit and cereal. Something hot will cost you, since it apparently isn't included in your inflated room price.

Thin walls, thin floors and compact rooms ensure you're never too short on conversations on which to eavesdrop. This is fine - at times, rather amusing - in the early evening, but coughing fits at 2am from the Apprentice fan upstairs did start to get a little tiresome.

And oh, the service. *bangs head on desk and sighs*. I just don't understand how hotels who are so brazenly rude to their guests can stay in business. Oh, and beware when coming down the stairs. They're steep and it's ever so easy to lose your footing.

Sorry chaps, but this one is very much on the 'give it a miss' list, unless you really need a car-friendly, central location and there is nothing, absolutely NOTHING available anywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

London
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I booked here because I didn't want to be using public car parks in Cambridge, and many of the cute little boutique hotels didn't offer off-street parking. The hotel is fine, but note there's no lift and not a lot of help with bags. My first room was located outside the air-con units, which were hot and noisy, but they moved me without a murmur. Desk staff could use some support, and the bartenders had never heard of martini cocktails - but if you are patient and prefer some other tipple then this will suit you just fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroad164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance from the centre of Cambridge. It is very clean and my room was serviceable, if a bit small, with a nice bathroom. I think that it is pretty pricey for what you actually get. My room was very small and there it wasn't much good for doing any work. It would be a good base for a touring holiday but for that I would expect a better breakfast than the one included in the price, which was the continental breakfast. This consisted of cereal, some yogurt, toast, a few old pastries and not much else. Tea and juices were poor. If you want something to set you up for a long day you would have to pay extra for the cooked version. The hotel decor was a bit like something out of the early 1980s, felt a bit like the food choice at breakfast was too. Breakfast staff didn't look happy to be there but desk staff friendly enough. Only other complaint is that I had to carry my heavy case up the narrow stairs so not the most comfortable arrival.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PicklesMcGraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

To start with the positives - the hotel is in a great location with loads of parking and the rooms are ok.

The staff are miserable, curt and not at all interested. The 'continental' breakfast was really poor with quite possibly the very worst croissants I've ever seen (and these were still the best bit of the mean breakfast!). The decor is like going to your Gran's house in 1975 and good luck with carrying your luggage up four very narrow flights of stairs with no attempt at assistance by staff!

On top of this the £115 per night price tag is just ludicrous for what is a well below par experience.

Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mothra44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Well appointed and neat Hotel but the rooms are far too small for the price.
No lifts so if you are on the upper floors you have to lug your luggage up a narrow staitcase could be 4 floors.
Stayed there before we went on a cruise and the room was smaller than the one on the ship!!
Worn carpet as well.
Breakfast area and restraunt was nice and it is close to the center of things.
Once again not value for mony far too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkVAyr_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I know cambridge well and have returned numerous times, often using this hotel, but sometimes I don't know why! The hotel has several large plusses, it is near the town centre, it is next to the river and the common, it has off street parking and is easily accesible without entering the bad Cambridge traffic snarls, the breakfast is good, in some ways I love the quirky feel of lots of houses joined together to make one hotel and I have found the staff to be friendly. HOWEVER (and it is a big however) this hotel does have several large negatives. The rooms are very variable and some are downright poky, you get the feeling every broom cupboard has been made into a room, which when you're 6'2" gets a bit tight. When you combine that with the fact that the occassional tiny rooms have normal/large prices to match you get annoyed. The finish quality of the rooms is also becoming tired, though what you could do to the brrom cupboards is beyond me. Dinner isn't too great either.
I still JUST give the place 3/5. It could easily slump to 2/5 but would need a lot of work to lift it up to 4/5 (probably a redesign and amalgamation of smaller rooms). However I can't see that happening as it serves a busy tourist market.
I will sta here again if I have to because the plusses are just enough to overcome my latent claustrophobia their rooms engender. Stay here for a place to sleep and eat breakfast and you will be OK.

Room Tip: Avoid the broom cupboards
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YBOD98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
171 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,756 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundel House Hotel

Property: Arundel House Hotel
Address: Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Arundel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundel Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing