We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy room with added cobwebs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arundel House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Essex
2 reviews
“Dingy room with added cobwebs!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for a weekend and had a dingy room in the Coach House block. There were cobwebs on the ceiling and 40 watt bulbs in the very indequate table lamps. Haven't seen beds with blankets in hotels for years but they were here, looking slightly tired and worn. The buffet breakfast was just about edible but the toaster did not work properly and so toast was scorched on one side and not touched on the other. The queues to check out this morning were incredible with one poor young woman left to deal with about ten bills and other inquiries.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexZara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    227
    230
    110
    60
See reviews for
95
249
56
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I had a lovely sized room with a massive bathroom, including a rather lovely bath. Everything was very clean and nice. The reception staff were very friendly. I had dinner in the hotel and I would really recommend it, the food was excellent as was the service. Breakfast was OK, small continental buffet, though you had to order hot food and it seemed to take an age to arrive, I only ordered poached eggs on toast! Great parking out the back of the hotel too, I'd stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzag2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and thank god it was only two nights.
Minuses:
Really strange building, no lifts, tiny stairs...I was struggling with my cabin luggage to squeeze between the handrail and the walls and I am slim built.
Single room was on 3rd floor-I don't know if all rooms are the size of swallow's nest on that floor but I was 'lucky' to stay in that one. Walked into the room and felt like Alice in Wonderland. All furniture is tiny, just the right size to squeeze into the 'nest'.
Though the room was on the 3rd floor, still could hear the traffic.
Breakfast-had continental. Pretty standard. Staff was very impersonal but maybe it was just me looking grumpy after sleeping in the swallows nest on the 3rd floor.
Pluses: Ermm. Clean. Spacious car park. Not sure what else to add.
Hope there are better rooms in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrinhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Unpretentious yet very comfortable hotel with nice ambiance. Reception staff very helpful. Location ideal with good free parking. Excellent value in a city where tourists can be taken advantage of.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicman767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed here on Sunday 18th March 2012. This hotel is perfectly situated close to the city centre of Cambridge, it is only a short walk of about 5 to 10 minutes. The hotel's decor is definately dated, the single room I had was small and basic but adequete and very clean. The staff were polite and helpful. There is parking to the rear of the hotel. If you want a reaonably priced hotel for Cambridge then this place is ok. its downfall for me was the continental breakfast which I thought was very poor, the sliced fruit and fruit salad looked a little tired, the choice of cheese amounted to a few slices and some cream cheese, there was no meat selection and no croissants or patries to choose from, added to the fact that the white bread, which was left next to the toaster for customers to self toast was completely mouldy, really brought the hotel down.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I arranged a birthday 9oth birthday party for my mother and from the time I contacted the hotel,to the time the party ended the service I received was of the highest standard. The Buffet was excellent, the staff went out of their way to help in any way they could. I would recommended this hotel to anyone who wants excellent food, friendly and very helpful staff. The hotel manager (Annette Percival) did everything she could to make this a successful and good experience for my mother and her guests . I have on other occasions dined in the restaurant and have always had very good food and excellent service. All of the guests at the party without exception commented on how good the food was and how they thought that the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I will definitely be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Friendly staff, large room (little dated though!) clean but small shower room. Breakfast very good and plenty of it.
Little expensive as needs updating and cheaper just as nice in area.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the front for river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
171 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,755 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundel House Hotel

Property: Arundel House Hotel
Address: Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Arundel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundel Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing