We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arundel House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ashley Hotel(Cambridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hamilton Lodge(Cambridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveller rating
72
247
263
119
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
247
263
119
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjesus greenthe riverstayed in the coach housecontinental breakfast iscity centrepleasant walkplenty of parkingvisiting cambridgeyogurtconservatory
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
568 - 573 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We spent three nights here as part of a car club group package. It had taken three months to get confirmation of our booking (made last November) but once we arrived everything went OK with the check in. Our room was in the Coach House, nice and quiet. The bathroom is snug but adequate and the double bed just that - a double, not a queen or king size, so sleeping was very cosy. The breakfasts were good and the car parking worked well for the group even though we had to choose our spot carefully for a classic car. Perhaps the best aspect of the hotel is its proximity to the city centre. Being able to park there and walk into town via a footbridge and Jesus Green is a great advantage over trying to park in the centre directly. We paid £125 a night for B&B, over three nights. It is slightly pricey but reflects the popularity of Cambridge as a year-round destination. Our group dinner on Saturday evening was quite good; we weren't expecting gourmet delights.

Room Tip: The Coach House is quieter, being away from the main (Chesterton) road.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accidentaltourist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Have stayed here in the past and found it improved, with a pleasant conservatory and refurbished dinning area. Our room in the Coach House was spacious and well equipted, but had a noisy and complicated security system which was prone to lock you out and need resetting at reception.
The sighting of the hotel is convenient for Central Cambridge, just across Jesus meadow, and for outlying colleges. The food in the restaurant was of good quality but beware that if you have table d'hote you are billed for 3 courses even if you only have 2 courses. When we queried our bill the staff said that it was practice to do this as guests may change their minds from 2 to 3 courses - we thought this was unexceptable as it put the onus on guests to ensure that they were not overcharged.
The hotel was very busy and the impression was that there were not sufficient staff available - queuing and long waits for service.
Overall we thought this was a good 3 star hotel but that £145 per night(through booking.com) for a room with continental breakfast only was excessive.

Room Tip: Our room in the Coach House(523) was a good size and had a full size bath but others may not be so good. There is a short distance across the car park to the main building which may cause inconvenience if you are without an umbrella.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dav88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Extremely disappointing. The rooms are rather small and oldish, the bathroom also needs refurbishment. Beer bottle caps were still on the floor when we arrived. Since it was rather cold outside (13C during the day and even colder during the night), asked for the heating to be switched off. They said that it was not possible, but they would bring an electric heater. Unfortunately, even after we called them again, it never happened. Overall, this hotel is of a b&b quality and does not merit £145 per night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthLondonerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on the way to Stansted airport. Parking is included is the room rate which is a bonus for a city centre hotel. Arrived around 11 in the morning and pleased to say room was ready. Check in was swift and staff friendly. Booked a family room which was on the same floor as the reception facing the river. For 165 per night I thought the family room was small and only included continental breakfast. It was basically a double with an extra bed. All of the public areas and room appeared to be clean. Ate in the hotels restaurant the first night and found the food to be average. Would recommend going into Cambridge to eat as there are a good selection of restaurants.

The plus points for this hotel is the location. Across the road from Jesus Green and a 5 min walk into town. I would stay again but only if it was cheaper. The staff found my daughters toy dog and rang me to say they had it at the hotel which I thought was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HurstyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I was shocked to see some bad reviews for this hotel. No hot breakfast!!!!! They must have got the wrong Arundel House Hotel. The cooked breakfasts are great and there is plenty of choice for a continental breakfast. Over the years we have worked our way through several hotels in Cambridge. This is by far the friendliest and best hotel of the lot. We originally tried it because it was very close to Magdalene College and have never even considered going back to any of the others. Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and good food. AND they don't charge you for parking in their car park!!!!!! One hotel we stayed at (which was far more expensive than this one) added £25 per day for parking! I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews