We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resturant - Very slow service with an almost empty resturant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arundel House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Resturant - Very slow service with an almost empty resturant”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The restaurant here has been good in the past but it took a good two hours to eat a meal today and there was a significant gap between other deserts arriving and other family members and the profiterole hot chocolate sauce didn't seem hot, this place seems to be letting people down by going slow on service when the main restaurant is empty, there seemed to be more food going into the conservatory in the time we waited than what we experienced and although the food is good, I would honestly say although it's nice food if you just want a meal, you may in fact be better elsewhere in town for speed and quality potentially being better at the moment as they are letting their customers down especially with bringing out pipping hot food and their service speed is getting terrible they need to improve as otherwise they will soon start loosing customers and I for one don't feel like going back for a while.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    228
    239
    112
    61
See reviews for
97
252
57
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The Arundel House Hotel is not in the very centre of Cambridge and it is not on a very noisy and busy main road- that is part of its attraction and something that, quite literally, sets it apart from other central Cambridge hotels that I have used.

The hotel looks quite grand – it is in a series of converted town houses, standing high above the road. Inside you can tell it was originally several houses, but that is part of its character, I suppose.

I had a room at the back of the hotel – not the most amazing view, but really quiet in terms of noise from outside. My room was fine, adequate lighting, with a comfortable bed and a small desk to work on. Fairly classic hotel room furnuture. It was perhaps easier than I would have liked to hear other guests using the corridor and the stairs, but that is probably inevitable in this kind of older building with narrow corridors... and the room was near a staircase. I used my own wifi and the signal was good.

The reception area at the front of the hotel is well above street level and the views are excellent, especially on a fine day, looking over Chesterton Road to Jesus Green, so I imagine rooms at the front have the same fine view.

To get to the city centre, although you could catch the bus from over the road and travel a couple of stops, the most obvious option is to walk through that fine view- cross the road, use the pedestrian/bicycle bridge over the river (punts to be seen), and then walk along one of the several paths across the greenery of Jesus Green down towards the city centre. It is a pleasant walk, well lit at night, and takes you through some quiet and attractive little streets as you approach the main business area. It takes 10 to 15 minutes depending on where you go and how fast you walk.

From the hotel, you can also cross the bridge and walk along the peaceful riverbank in either direction; turn left and it takes you past the open air swimming pool or turn right to follow the river, soon going past the delightful La Mimosa restaurant, on the way to a kind of boardwalk over the water that leads to Magdalene Street, several chain restaurants and the mayhem that is Cambridge.

Breakfast was good, served in the basement restaurant; it was all rather formal and very “English”. They serve formal or less formal meals during the day; I heard good reports of the evening service, although I did not use it myself.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

The room was tired but the food was lively as were the staff. A bit expensive but I found the staff great.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkic40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Very good food in a good location, staff friendly.
Overall attention to detail could be better, four out of four pictures in my vicinity in the Restaurant had 1 of 2 lighting bulbs blown. Not offered water or butter to go with my ever so slightly stale bread roll. Remaining food was very good however good value. Beware of the Table d'Hote option separate courses can be cheaper. I will stay again if I am in the area on business.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We always stay here when we come to Cambridge because we love the location and the ease with which you can walk into the city. However, our experience with the hotel has always been 'patchy' . Either the room or the food has been terrible but this time we were charged £145 for a single room with a small double bed in it, and we were bumping into one another and the furniture. The worst experience was in the conservatory restaurant, which is such a pleasant venue but which always disappoints, either because of the food or the service or both. This time I felt ill after the warmed over chicken; if it had been left out any longer I might have been in difficulty. With great regret, we will now find somewhere else to stay for our Cambridge visits. The Arundel House doesn't need to raise its game and it knows it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2012

stayed a couple of nights, room very tired looking and the bathroom was the same, not cheap to stay here either. Breakfast buffet was ok but the full english was dreadful. Restaurant food just ok a group of us had steaks and it was very hit and miss. The location is the best thing about this hotel, and when you leave you certainly dont feel you stayed at a big posh hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We spent three nights here as part of a car club group package. It had taken three months to get confirmation of our booking (made last November) but once we arrived everything went OK with the check in. Our room was in the Coach House, nice and quiet. The bathroom is snug but adequate and the double bed just that - a double, not a queen or king size, so sleeping was very cosy. The breakfasts were good and the car parking worked well for the group even though we had to choose our spot carefully for a classic car. Perhaps the best aspect of the hotel is its proximity to the city centre. Being able to park there and walk into town via a footbridge and Jesus Green is a great advantage over trying to park in the centre directly. We paid £125 a night for B&B, over three nights. It is slightly pricey but reflects the popularity of Cambridge as a year-round destination. Our group dinner on Saturday evening was quite good; we weren't expecting gourmet delights.

Room Tip: The Coach House is quieter, being away from the main (Chesterton) road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accidentaltourist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
571 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
1,780 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundel House Hotel

Property: Arundel House Hotel
Address: Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Arundel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundel Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing