We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arundel House Hotel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is an old fashioned hotel which is expensive and boring. the decor is in terrible taste. It is conveniently located. The food is poor and stodgy. At breakfast the coffee and tea were disgusuting and the pastries were not fresh. The cooked breakfast looked better. The evening menu is boring with overcooked vegetables and disgusting desserts. The bar was good though with high quality well priced drinks. It would be fine to stay here if you ate elsewhere and could afford it and don't mind about style.

Room Tip: Choose one on a higher floor to get less traffic noise. if you want a view of cambridge you need on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

Nice, clean and spacious room. Lovely bed! Free Internet. Excellent bar! Good continental breakfast. Service minded staff. Only two minutes walk to the city center, right by the river. Parking in the back yard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a business trip. Very very poor show - for GBP 75 a night --

a very small room
which was very noisy (so when anyone walked past my room or if the people upstairs moved a bit, I heard!)
no free wifi (despite having advertised as 'wifi in all areas')
however the food was reasonable.

In a sentence - a bed and breakfast that thinks it's a hotel: all the impersonal unfriendliness you'd expect in a badly managed hotel, but in an old, non-sound-proof B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank u03ekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at the Arundel House Hotel Sept 2012, I had booked two superior twin rooms, when we arrived we found we had rooms at the back of the hotel in a building called coach house.

Good:- the rooms were very nice and beds were very comfortable, quite spacious.
Bad:- beds were small I guess 2' 6", biggest disappointment booked with booking.com and it clearly stated breakfast inc. when thats all it says you presume full english, our rooms cards had been ticked for continental. I complained and managed to get 2/4 cooked breakfasts, so beware you only get continental included, cooked is at £7.95 per head extra, pricey hotel.

Room Tip: We could see the rear of hotel from the Coach House, it is 3 or 4 storeys high, have seen complaints...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The hotel is located within walking distance of Cambridge. It is very clean and tidy. Our double room was small to average. The shower room was too small. Breakfast was pleasant enough but the service was mediocre. The reception staff were nice enough too. My husband was chatty with them when we checked in and cracked a joke, they didn't laugh. I thought it was funny they could have laughed just to be polite! The hotel lacks atmosphere. It is missing something. I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Choose one in which you can swing a cat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliejersey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Arundel House Hotel is well located for a trip to Cambridge, with the major attractions within walking distance. There's also free parking and wi-fi (but not 'in all areas' as their website claims).
The decor is hideous, however, and a refurb long overdue. Our room had a 'stale' smell. There is no lift, which means that guests with mobility issues may struggle.
We had booked through bookings.com and requested rooms together for our family group and specified that one of our party could not manage stairs. The rooms we were given were not together - our daughter's room, although consecutively numbered, was up a different flight of stairs, and our sons were in the Coach House - a different building altogether! The room allocated to our elderly family member was three flights up from the breakfast room! He also commented on how small his single room was. After one night, this was changed to a room on the ground floor, which was bigger and much nicer.
The breakfast included in our room rates was continental, although we were able to upgrade to full English for £7.95.
We found some members of staff rather unhelpful - our party of 8 wanted to sit together for breakfast and we were made to feel that this was a trouble to them.

Room Tip: Try to get ground floor if stairs are a problem (no lift). Rooms at the front have views over the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stratocastermagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We found the staff extremely helpful and unfussy. We were switched to a ground floor room because of a mobility issue that had arisen since booking (no lift - one of few negatives), well cared for when 1 of the party became ill, given parking spaces for non-guests who were visiting, and generally made to feel that nothing was too much trouble. The double and twin rooms were large, clean and comfortable and the location was very convenient for the city centre. Very relaxing public and dining areas though the continental breakfast was a bit dull despite a nice choice of fruit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#20 of 36 in Cambridge
188 reviews
1 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundel House Hotel

Address: Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £104 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Arundel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundel Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing