We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for central Cambridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arundel House Hotel
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Handy for central Cambridge”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as my College in central Cambridge had no "room at the inn". It was a good choice, and at £67.50 incl. Continental Breakfast pretty good value. My room was small but clean and it had every amenity. Plenty of free car parking at the back of the hotel - quite a plus in Cambridge, as some hotels charge £18 for this. The hotel overlooks Midsummer Common and it is a pleasant 15 min walk from the historic centre. I would certainly come again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Critic1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    223
    225
    107
    59
See reviews for
94
244
56
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I booked my single room including continental breakfast on a rack rate direct to hotel at seventy five pounds.

The hotel is centrally located with easy foot access to the City and the hotel offers good car parking.

This one night stay really was a mixed experience. The bar, lounge, conservatory and restaurant are lovely making you feel cosy and relaxed. Prices are OK for drinks and staff are friendly.

However, the room I was given, albeit clean was cold and very cramped offering an experience which was completely opposite to the public areas.

The breakfast was poor. The continental offering was unimaginative with fruit that had seen better days. The one banana was black and bruised, cereal choice was three options and cold croissants. To upgrade to a full english option was seven pounds ninety five but was smaller than a Little Chef - a rip off.

For a weekend there were not many guests. The hotel served its purpose but I am not sure I would return for more than one night.

Room Tip: avoid a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunbedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Its difficult to rate this hotel as it apparently doesn’t claim to have any stars. Overall it was considered somewhat poor value for money; but it was a busy graduation/half term weekend and Cambridge is a popular tourist city short of good accommodation, which naturally inflates prices too… The value for money is also reduced by the late check in [15-00] and early check out of 10-30 [11-00 on Sunday], plus the basic rate only includes a Continental Breakfast.

The room allocated was in the quiet “Coach House” annex in the grounds to the rear. It was spacious, clean and well presented with a large “double” bed [i.e. two singles put side by side with sheets over the join]. Despite being on the ground floor noise [from rooms above or the car park outside the window] wasn’t a problem resulting in a very good nights sleep. The Continental Breakfast with a good selection of items was ample, following the large college dinner eaten the previous night, although tea and coffee pots seemed to get mixed up...!

The reception staff were cheerful and polite, with one helping me locate a [renamed?] street in Cambridge I wasn’t familiar with. The hotel is handily located opposite Jesus Green so quite close to many colleges, city centre etc.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Coach House Annex are quieter for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brassed_Off_Jynxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at the Arundel for an social evening with our car club friends. This was a group booking arranged through the club. For £150 we had bed breakfast and evening meal. We had a double room in the Coach House which is an annex at the back of the hotel. The room was spacious with a huge comfortable bed (6ft wide!). It had the usual hotel facilities of reasonable quality. Bathroom was clean except for a dribble mark down the front of the toilet pan. We had a 3 course evening meal which was nice. Some of our party complained of slow service. The service wasnt quick, but it stretched out the evening nicely, and with a group of 12 of us there was lively conversation to fill the time between courses. My partner and I had been privy to some information that there was another group of 17 people also dining that night, so making allowances for this, I dont feel there was much to complain about. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The bar prices werent extortionate, but a pity it closed at 12am. Our room rate included a full english Breakfast (I think a standard room rate included a continental breakfast or an extra £7.95 to have the full). I think it was one of the best hotel breakfasts I have had. High quality bacon and sausage. Overall, I couldnt say that it was "value of money", but it wasnt a disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucylocket35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I was impressed by the single room. It was well-appointed and not too small, with everything one could hope for - attractive decor, good t.v, plenty of storage space, comfortable bed, good shower, and clean. The continental breakfast was excellent and the whole was very good value indeed.

Room Tip: Front room facing the river and Jesus Green would have the best view but it would be quieter round t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MezS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I stayed for three nights last week in a tiny bedroom and even smaller bathroom apparently designed for Sylvanians. That said the hotel isv very clean with highly patterned new carpets throughout. Continental breakfast is poor. Cooked breakfast is the best I have had in Cambridge at any hotel I have stayed in. At £85 a night it should be included in the room rate. Wide choice of restaurant meals, some of which appeared to be bought in. Conservatory is better vaue. Good location and nice staff. The bed and mattress were poor.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The location is excellent, an easy walk through the park into town, excellent car parking (which is hideously expensive in Cambridge so parking up at the hotel is the perfect solution). I also found the continental breakfast to be quick, efficient, and sufficiently varied in terms of fruits (oranges, pineapple, two types of melon, fruit basket) yoghurts and toast etc but a little uninspired in terms of breakfast pasties. But a minor quibble.

The hotel is clean and quiet. Some of the decor is alarming -- 1980's swirl carpets and curtains in places but sadly all built to last for decades more to come. It would cost a fortune to refit the hotel so lets accept it for what it is.

However, less acceptable given the cost, is the quality of the bedrooms and the beds. I had a single room. It was tiny, bed pinned against the wall, shower room simply the width of a narrow shower. The furnishings were dated and the bed uncomfortable. It did not make for a good nights' sleep and on this basis it would be unlikely that I would stay again. Nothing wrong with the cleanliness, just the lack of comfort and quality. Jaded.

In terms of staff,I did not find them very welcoming or engaging. They were neither impolite nor unpleasant but just rather disinterested. The receptionist wanted to book me in as swiftly as possible, gave no welcome, no "can I help" messages but bundled me off as soon as possible. I do so dislike this. Almost everyone coming to a hotel has made a long journey (mine was just over 300 miles on a cold, miserable February day) -- after all, if people had not been travelling they would have returned home, so arriving somewhere really is an opportunity to greet someone, see if they would like a cup of tea, show them where the loos are, and generally welcome them into the hotel. It does not need Flowers, embraces, or a brass band --- but something a little more than "sign here --- first door on the right, up the stairs, press the button and swipe the card, - breakfast 7.30 - 9.30" i think it is what one might call hospitality --- and it costs not a penny more!

Its a shame --- the City is magnificent, the location spot on, and I am sure there is no negative intent as such..... but a little more warmth and genuine interest would make a lot of difference.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theocsbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundel House Hotel

Property: Arundel House Hotel
Address: Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Arundel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundel Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing