We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arundel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arundel House Hotel
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is not a hotel it is a succession of bed and breakfast houses cobbled into one. Handicap access is non existent and there are no lifts so cases etc have to be carried up and down an array of staircases to get to the bedrooms, that includes the ground floor. Not a place to stay unless of course you are into physical exercise and completing assault courses. Bedrooms have the open window air conditioning system and are hot at all times.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    218
    222
    105
    59
See reviews for
93
238
56
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here for one night....never again! There are much better hotels for the expensive price the Arundel charge. Our room was so hot & stuffy....and no shower!!! What kind of hotel is this? The bar staff were very rude, my husband let them know his pint of lager was off, to be told "no it isn't!" Breakfast was awful. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, but if I have to stay in Cambridge again, I will not be using this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayFanNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting Cambridge University. Very convenient location and we loved the setting (a group of connected townhouses). Breakfast was included and, while not lavish, was completely satisfactory.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRDABRDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I booked the Arundel House Hotel for 30 guests who were attending a family wedding in Cambridge. The service we received was excellent from the start and nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely meal on the friday evening and the presentation, quality and service was very good. The parking is fab - which is a huge bonus for a Cambridge hotel. We found all the staff very helpful and friendly and did not have a problem at breakfast. Negative points? -The hotel is a little tired in places and the rooms were very very hot but other than that it was a great hotel, for a large group to spread out and relax

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have stayed in this hotel twice now. hotel is in perfect location if you are planning a visit to the lovely Cambridge. Jesus Green is just next to it and just few mins walk to the town . Staffs are helpful and friendly . Breakfast is not too bad they have cooked b/f as well. Only thing is we had to wait quite awhile to get seated. Besides that , the room was fine at the coach house , shower was good and the room gets cleaned so quickly!
Room service is available , food wasnt too bad.
La Mimosa (italian restaurant) is just across ,near the banks of river Cam. Food and service is excellent and its quite a popular restaurant. Car park is available at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a wedding celebration in Cambridge. The rooms were like saunas with very little ventilation or fans. The staff were mostly unhelpful and the restaurant bar staff were quite rude on several occasions. The breakfast is not worth bothering with (one morning was a 45 minute wait) and the meal served one evening was tasteless and very overpriced. The hotel has so much potential but is spoilt by the poor service and high price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_1978S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The location is good - it is near Jesus Green and only a few minutes walk to town centre. There is a nice restaurant with a good menu at reasonable price. However the service at the restaurant is not as good as it could have been, particularly at the breakfast sessions. The room is spacious and clean. We were staying in the ground floor front room so in the morning there is the usual traffic noise. The wifi connection did not work 3 out of 6 days that we were staying.

Room Tip: It will be better to have a first floor room that is not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone_hammy_bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#17 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.5 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundel House Hotel

Property: Arundel House Hotel
Address: Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Arundel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundel Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing