We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and fit for purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arundel House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
The Hague
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Functional and fit for purpose”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I just wanted somewhere comfortable to spend the night, park the car and have a shower and breakfast in the morning. The Arundel house has single rooms that meet this need a much more sensible price than places like the University Arms etc, which charge about the same for single or double.
Free parking is a plus, as is free wifi and breakfast (although only continental - which suited me).
Service a but mixed, slow to be seated at breakfast and reception was blunt (near rude) when I asked if my room might be ready before 3pm - I got the answer "no" and turned away - no follow up, can I help you in any other way, eg where can I leave my bags, is it ok if I check in late etc etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hague-expat124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    228
    239
    112
    61
See reviews for
97
252
57
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed here on a number of occasions as it is good value for money. A big plus is that it has a large car park so even if you arrive late in the evening you know there will be a space for you. Not all Cambridge hotels are like this! The staff are friendly and the food, especially breakfast, is good. Make sure you don't get a room near the kitchens extractor fans as they are noisy until about 11.00pm. The hotel is good value for money and I will continue to use it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Avoid this hotel at all cost. The room resembles a Turkish prison cell: small, hot and old. Squeaky floors, toilet not flushing, shower cramped and no heat control and low water pressure. Service is poor at best and to top things off, a false fire alarm woke the whole hotel and put me in my pj's in the parking lot at 5:25am last night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Booked this hotel for a weekend away with some girl friends. The location is spot on only as short stroll through the park, along the river to the town centre. Ample free parking and the staff courteous and friendly. Our room tariff included a free continental breakfast which was more than adequate and for just over £76 per night, I feel this was a real bargain. But, and this is a BIG but . . . my room was up 3 flights of stairs, almost in the attic (at least in the attic there was a large window) but in my room (the smallest single room I have ever seen) there was only a small porthole sized window and with the sun blazing on that side of the hotel all day it was like a sweatbox. The size of the room albeit very small wasn't a problem but the heat was unbearable and that coupled with the noise of a boiler cranking to life at 7am, I thought we were under attack. But bad show really on the part of the hotel as this room is totally unfit for occupancy and how it ever passed a fire inspection I'll never know and there is definitely no way you could escape if there fire was on the stair case. Also I feel I must add the food in the restaurant was very nice indeed and the staff every so helpful and friendly - unlike some of the other reviews I have read.

Room Tip: Noisey on the front of the hotel as its on a main road, but avoid at all costs Room 325.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgina_daniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is located in a fairly quiet location but is no more than 10 minutes walk away from King's College etc. (the touristy part of the city). My room was clean and spacious. The hotel has a lovely conservatory and lounge style area which is perfect for work and meetings. Breakfast staff were very friendly and provided a great start to the day. Good selection of cereals, breads, cheese, fruit and yoghurts for breakfast. Overall, a nice hotel although a little pricey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Generally a good hotel experience all round: good location, large room, good facilities. Very good parking. I thought it was reasonably expensive (around 150 pounds per night), but it seems this is standard for Cambridge. Hotel staff ranged from the very good and friendly (breakfast staff) to the absolutely disinterested verging on rude (person that checked us in - after a 2 hour drive, the last thing you need is abrupt, one word answers to questions).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgdas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel occupies a line of Victorian houses overlooking the river, only a few minutes walk from the historic college area across the green. Reception was reasonably speedy to check in, although later on pretty slow to check out. My room was first floor overlooking the road, but was quiet, more so than I had initially feared. At breakfast there was an unexplained length delay in finding seats, never did see why. Breakfast buffet was better than usual and the full English was the usual. At £125 per night the value for money was only average.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eldonista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
571 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,780 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundel House Hotel

Property: Arundel House Hotel
Address: Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Arundel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundel Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing