We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, but very good location. Price is very reasonable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arundel House Hotel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed here for business, and my room was tiny. However I only paid £85, so it was not that bad considering Cambridge prices. The location is excellent and the staff are helpful. The breakfast is ok, overall, this place is ok but nothing special. If you want a decent nights sleep in a good location this hotel is for you. Good for business/family sort of stay, but would definitively not come here for a holiday or a romantic getaway type trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is located very conveniently for most of Cambridge. It's just across the street from a park with a lovely stroll to the Cam and the center of town. The rooms are large and clean, and the car park is quite large and easily accessible. But the hotel itself is expensive and somewhat pretentious for what you get. Continental breakfast is adequate at best, not what I'd expect at those rates.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leathem04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here 2 nights with a 4 others. The location is really good and has the benefit of a car park, and generally clean and comfortable hotel, if a little dated in décor, but things do start to go downhill after that. The restaurant's food is average at best and breakfast could certainly be improved. The service was appalling. Long wait to be seated mainly due to lack of staff and the ones that are there are on a slower than go slow to clear and re lay tables. With the exception of a young man ( shaved head ) on Wednesday 3rd June, who was running around like a headless chicken trying to clear tables and get everyone seated, he had no help from the rest of the staff. If fact one woman ( Bev I believe her name was) was being incredibly obstructive. When she cleared a table we watched in amazement that she walked back and forth carrying one knife, then back to collect one fork and then back to collect one cup and saucer, and so on!!!! Obviously behind the scenes staff personality problems, but that should not be taken out on the guests as it was us that suffered.
My other problem was on my first morning I had a newspaper delivered under my door. I did not order a paper. I went down to tell reception and that said sorry, but the next morning again another newspaper was delivered. Staff need guidance and how to work as a team.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

An amazing continental breakfast....with a wide assortment of fresh fruits, cereals,cheeses and of course bread and croissant...and to drink coffee and tea served at the table and a good selection of juices too. One of the best continental breakfasts I have ever had.

Room Tip: Nothing to add here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The location is pleasant but the service and lodgings are comical. If you want a question answered with a question, this is the place for you. Arriving for breakfast, you will be "kindly" asked for your "table number". Huh? When breakfast arrives, the plate will be super hot but the food -- not-so-hot. No lift (as others note). Decor is "early grandmother"--- no reading lights, no mini-bar. The hall width must meet the legal minimum, but the margin must be "narrow." Choose this place if nothing else is available or if you must have this location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OftenTraveling1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Arundel House Hotel has only one thing going for it and that's the location and the view. The hotel itself is the worst hotel I've stayed in in years. It needs, clean flooring, elevators, air conditioning, handicapped access, fresh bread on the continental breakfast, comfortable beds and showers that work. In other words please gut the inside and start over. Obviously in it's terrible dirty and noisy condition, the fact that it is booked reflects some absent land lords idea of cynically taking advantage of it's location. Said owner, whomever that might be, also hires young inexperienced staff who are terrified of being blamed for all the visitors complaints. I can only guess that they no doubt work for low wages and are blamed for bad reviews. I asked to speak to the manager on a mid morning Monday and was told that there is no manager that comes in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anette66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is made up of a number of three/four storey houses facing the river on Chesterton Road. It's a short walk across a green to the centre of town, so an excellent location. It also has a big car park if you're driving. You'd need a taxi from the station, though. The food is good, though the continental breakfast is fairly average if you don't max on carbs: fruit, yoghurt and cheese but no meats. The rooms are clean. That's the good bits taken care of. The downsides are: our room (311) had a TV fixed to the wall opposite the window so it was not really visible from the bed; we were on the third floor with no lift and some narrow stairs which made it hard lugging the cases up (nobody at Reception asked if we wanted help, although we are pensioners); WIFI didn't reach up there and when we mentioned it on checking out we were asked if we'd telephoned down as if it was all our fault that we hadn't enjoyed the promise of free WIFI. (We hadn't telephoned down as we'd had to disconnect the phone in order to move it from one of the bedside tables since with that and the lamp there was no room for anything else on the table.) When we had climbed all the way back to our room after breakfast, the fancy touch screen key card wouldn't work. My husband wearily went all the way back to Reception, where he said that the girl silently took it and reprogrammed it. On check-out, we mentioned this as well. The girl (Yes, I agree with Tigerabi12, they are not very customer focused - I forgot to mention the dragon in the breakfast room: thank God my husband was wearing a tie, she tore a strip off a young man with bare feet) said that it was probably because it was close to the time of checking out. No 'Sorry' at all. Not sure if they know the word. Oh, and the carpets are bizarre.

Room Tip: Insist on a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
187 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,082 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundel House Hotel

Address: Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £104 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Arundel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundel Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing