We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LITTLE GEM”
Review of Home from Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Home from Home
Ranked #21 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LITTLE GEM”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

You can't go wrong with this place a little gem at a great price. Only drawback was breakfast across a small courtyard and driveway a little tight to get into. Staff very welcoming and even let a larger room when singles were sold out.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akagarryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    70
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
44
105
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The hosts were attentive and very eager to please. The room was quite literally, a home from home. The breakfast was outstanding- kippers divine (so I'm told), and anything was possible. The bed was great and facilities really clean with all décor thoughtfully done.
I suppose our situation was a bit unique as on the day of vacating the room, one of us needed access to the internet for most of the day whilst the other attended a meeting at a university. Not a problem, they gave me full access to the room until 15:00, coffee, etc all in and for no extra cost!
We just couldn’t fault the whole experience.
Definitely going again!

Room Tip: Ask for the one above the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FussyTraveller050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed here on a whim as we were travelling back to Yorkshire from a wedding in Suffolk. We were given the room at top of No78, which actually had a living room and kitchen, as I think they normally let this out as a self catering apartment. The room wasn't huge, but nicely appointed with an ensuite shower room and, as you had the living room next door, there was plenty of room. The breakfast was excellent, with a choicee of several hot options (full english, eggs of your choice, kipper or smoked mackerel) and plenty of cereal, toast, juice and yoghurts. The lady who served us and ran the b & b was lovely and friendly. Only complaint would be that we could have done with some tourist info in the rooms about Cambridge - leaflets, menus,etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

My husband booked this B&B for a special birthday weekend break. I could not have chosen a better B&B myself.
We arrived a bit early and were promptly provided a cafetiere of coffee on the patio - whilst our room was being finished off, which was just what we needed.
The room was spacious and very clean. The B&B is located about 10 mins walk away from town which can be reached through a lovely park, Jesus Green.
The breakfasts were extremely yummy with a vast selection, including continental, fruit, yoghurts, cereals etc as well as a good full English. The owners were friendly and accommodating to requests.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definately recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigandDeb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

a wonderful place to stay in Cambridge. We were positively surprised especially the room we had was so nicely decorated, not corny at all but so nice that you forget beeing in a hotel but more with some friends. Bathroom very clean and welcoming.
Brekfast - the best we had on our tour through south England.
If again in the region, we´ll for sure stay again there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Although the Home from Home was not my first choice, it was recommended after the first hotel I called was full. I guess from the recommendation then it could not be bad. It was quite the opposite. Very good indeed.
A very warm welcome on arrival and personally shown to my very clean and nicely presented bedroom. After a good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed (the bed was more comfortable than my own) I had a really delicious full English breakfast with fresh juice and freshly brewed coffee.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsonlee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We had a great stay--the room was clean, cozy and quiet, and the host was welcoming and very helpful. Great recommendations for things to do and places to eat in Cambridge--like staying with a knowledgeable friend. And the breakfast was superb---many choices from croissants, muffins, yogurt and coffee to made-to-order omelets, to full English breakfast.....we didnt need another meal all day! Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.3 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.1 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 122 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Guest House
The Cambridge Guest House
#9 of 122 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home from Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home from Home

Property: Home from Home
Address: 78 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Home from Home 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star silver award bed and breakfast. Located just a short walk from the city centre of Cambridge. Free wireless internet access. Private off road free parking. Breakfasts cooked to order from our large menu. Four star self-catering apartments also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Home from Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home From Home Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing