We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home From Home Guest House Cambridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Home from Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Home from Home
Ranked #22 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home From Home Guest House Cambridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Having recently stayed at the Home from home guest house, I was very pleasently supprised by the very warm welcome given by a member of staff,I booked a doudle for single use, Not only did the room contain a double and single, All the funiture was very new, and the room was spotless.
There was a second room which contained a kitchen and sitting area.
The breakfast was brilliant, I would highly recommonde To anyone,

Room Tip: Ask for an appartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaftsbury25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    69
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
44
103
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at Home from Home whilst we had a short stay in Cambridge. The location was ideal for us with just a short stroll into the City Centre. We stayed in the small additional building away from the main building which was fine for us. The breakfast was fantastic and the host, Vince, was very friendly and pointed us to an ideal local pub with fantastic food and atmosphere, The Spring. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We would say that this B&B is expensive and does not reflect good value at all. It is not up to the standard of others of the same price. It is unpleasant and, in fact it was the worst B&B in that we had stayed at in Britain.

The price of our room was 85 British Pounds: an outrage for the standard of accommodation and amenities: small room; bathroom and toilet down the corridor outside the room;

Breakfast was just ok.

This guest house is located quite far away from the city centre, you have to walk for 20 min. That was ok for us, because it was a pleasant walk in August but maybe it’s too far for people that can’t walk so much.

Neither in the web nor in the booking confirmation was told that our room was in a separate building down the back of the property that also had the dining room in it next to our room.

Definitively and without doubt, we will stay elsewhere next time in Cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank age237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We had an overnight stay whilst visiting some of the Colleges. It was a convenient location with ample off street parking and a pleasant 15 min walk to the historic centre via the park & river.
We stayed in the ground floor family room which was both larger and better equipped than expected with plenty of room for 2 Adults and a 16yo.
The breakfasts were large and enjoyable - just the right start to a long day of walking around Cambridge and the Staff were friendly and helpful.
An enjoyable short stay and we would be happy to stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We booked a family room for three (adults) in August. Location and parking facilities were good, Vincent greeted us very kindly and offered the probably best breakfast in Cambridge. However, the room was a bit too small for three people, the sofa bed smelly and there were not enough lights. But I'm sure after a refurbishment everything will be amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank movielover62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed here whilst exploring Cambridge and found it very convenient without being in the centre of the city.we had the ground floor flat which has everything you need for a stay including fully equipped kitchen so you could cook a proper meal if you wanted to. In fact we ate out each night and found 2 exceptional restaurants within a 5 minute walk, the Dawaat Indian and Hakka Chinese both in Wilton road were top class. the walk into Cambridge takes you through Jesus Green and along the river Cam and is a pleasant way to start the day especially after the wonderful breakfast you have just had at the B and B

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glazebury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed for two nights recently, and cannot fault the location and staff. Very warm welcome and shown to our room. A pleasant walk to the city centre along the river, although if you go by the road, they are quite busy and you have to chose the right place to cross or it can take some time.
The breakfast was really nice, the bacon was the best I have tasted in sometime. Would stay here again but ask for a room away from the front as the road is very noisey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the very busy road at the front if you want a good nights sleep!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.3 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.1 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 122 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Guest House
The Cambridge Guest House
#12 of 122 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home from Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home from Home

Property: Home from Home
Address: 78 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Home from Home 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star silver award bed and breakfast. Located just a short walk from the city centre of Cambridge. Free wireless internet access. Private off road free parking. Breakfasts cooked to order from our large menu. Four star self-catering apartments also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Home from Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home From Home Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing