We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Home from Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Home from Home
Ranked #19 of 121 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I've stayed at Home from Home Cambridge fairly regularly over the last few years and it's always been excellent. It's well located, always spotlessly clean and affordable. The rooms are tastefully decorated in keeping with the period house and there is always a warm welcome from the staff. I can't recommend Home from Home highly enough - it's brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkey_Boy_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    71
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
106
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Home from home is just that.....well not far off. I stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend. On arrival we were offered tea and coffee in the breakfast room. Nice touch!

The double room we booked included a large bedroom and king sized bed along with a separate living room and small kitchen. In the living room the large sofa and tv made for a relaxing stay. Of course much of our time was spent in Cambridge itself which was a 15 minute walk away. The walk is pleasant, partly through a park but don't expect the city centre on your doorstep.

Indeed the location is the only very minor set back. You can hear a little noise from the busy main road. However the accommodation is very good so we could easily forgive a little noise. Just to mention the b&b does have parking at the back.

All in all this is a very good b&b which will not disappoint. The breakfast was very good. 5* easily for the full English. This along with friendly staff make it a b&b I'd recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingOfTheReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

There are many hotels whose management should take this "guest house" as an example of the standard they should try to reach. The room was very well appointed with iron, hair drier, plenty of towels and toiletries. The breakfast had as big a choice as I have ever seen (kippers, salmon, vegetarian options, pancakes, buffet style...) and everything was cooked to a wonderful standard, tasty, generous and not greasy. All staff were helpful and pleasant. We were in toom 80-1 which is at the front of the main house by the front door but we were not disturbed either by people coming and going or by traffic. We don't mind walking so the distance to the city centre was not a problem for us (and it's a pleasant walk) and we will only consider staying here when we come to Cambridge again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemaryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My wife and I stayed Oct last year [2012] for 3 nights...Thursday through to Sunday. We found the owner Vince to be on the ball, pleasant to deal with and cooked us a breakfast to die for! Accommodation was spot on, the room girls kept our room spick an span and topped up with all the little extras.Ideal location for exploring Cambridge, 10-15 minute walk and you are in the city. Just booked again for this August:)

Room Tip: Was only a top floor available. bit of a climb but well worth the effort. So book early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We enjoyed the friendly hospitality at this nice B&B situated in the NW of Cambridge. The walk into the city centre was only 15 min crossing the river and a taking a path through the park.

Our room was a good size and the bathroom was modern and clean. We hade good space for storage. Breakfast was being served in a separate house and there were several different options what to eat. Everything was tasty and to our liking.

The area was nice, lots of good pubs close and we can certainly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hella_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at Home from Home for one night during a flying visit to Cambridge. We were in the outside building, the room was large and clean, but disappointing as it didn't have the character we would have liked and was very noisy - all sounds in the passage, kitchen and office area could be heard. The breakfast was good and the hosts were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The choice & variety for breakfast was outstanding, one of the best we have ever eaten, beautifully cooked. Our room was the basement apartment in the main building which was clean, well appointed & very well equipped. It had an excellent king size bed in the bedroom with large shower room off which was very well presented, lots of towels, etc. There was a single bed in the corner of the the sitting room along with a comfortable sofa, a coffee table & flat screen TV.
In a large recess the was a very well equipped kitchen that had everything you could need for self catering a full meal or just a cuppa (tea, coffee & a welcome pack were included).
Our daughter & son-in-law stayed in the separate building behind the main one, they were equally impressed.
The staff were extremely helpful very approachable, an excellent weekend.
We would recommend Home from Home to anyone.

Room Tip: Our basement rooms were down a short flight of steps, no good for anyone not so good on their legs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thederbyengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
423 reviews
2.1 mi away
Carolina Guest House
Carolina Guest House
#28 of 121 in Cambridge
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 121 in Cambridge
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#16 of 121 in Cambridge
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Worth House
Worth House
#3 of 121 in Cambridge
641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harry's Bed and Breakfast
Harry's Bed and Breakfast
#38 of 121 in Cambridge
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home from Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home from Home

Property: Home from Home
Address: 78 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Home from Home 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star silver award bed and breakfast. Located just a short walk from the city centre of Cambridge. Free wireless internet access. Private off road free parking. Breakfasts cooked to order from our large menu. Four star self-catering apartments also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Home from Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home From Home Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing