We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and convenient.”
Review of Home from Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Home from Home
Ranked #21 of 121 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, comfortable and convenient.”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had booked a ground floor double room as this was the room available on the website. We were upgraded to a very nice first floor self catering suite, with rear facing double room (en suite)and front facing open plan kitchen living room. There was a twin bedded attic room with a large shower en suite up another little flight of stairs. The kitchen was well equipped with a cooker, fridge and freezer. Everything was clean and neat. The bed was really comfortable and the linen and towels of good quality. Decor is homely and traditional. We did feel really at home and would have loved to have stayed longer than our planned single night.
Delicious freshly prepared breakfast at beautifully set tables.
The main road was not a problem and one only walks a few minutes along it before being able to go down by the river and into the town.
There is a good sized car park behind the building, across which is the reception and breakfast room. Beware the access to it is quite narrow and it may be necessary to retract the wing mirrors if you have a large car.
Lots of effort has gone into making one's stay here comfortable and enjoyable - we will stay here again if we return to Cambridge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonSeamist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    71
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
106
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay and very convenient for the city which is only a 10min. walk.The breakfast was generous with lots of choice served in a separate dining room.
Our room was on the ground floor so no stairs to climb.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My aunt and I stayed here for one night at the end of April.

They were out of twin rooms and instead provided us with a family room at no extra cost, even though we booked on the day of arrival. The (clean!) family room housed a double and single bed, spacious shower room (with massive towels), and a huge kitchen.

The drive way may be a bit of a squeeze if you have a large car, however there is plenty of parking space once you are through!

Breakfast was included in the price. Fresh coffee and tea were made on request and although I wasn't very hungry the cook was determined to give me a hot meal, and made me a small batch of pancakes - Delicious!

Room Tip: The family room would be perfect for an extended stay for a couple and child. The kitchen is fully e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmaitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I've stayed at Home from Home Cambridge fairly regularly over the last few years and it's always been excellent. It's well located, always spotlessly clean and affordable. The rooms are tastefully decorated in keeping with the period house and there is always a warm welcome from the staff. I can't recommend Home from Home highly enough - it's brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkey_Boy_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Home from home is just that.....well not far off. I stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend. On arrival we were offered tea and coffee in the breakfast room. Nice touch!

The double room we booked included a large bedroom and king sized bed along with a separate living room and small kitchen. In the living room the large sofa and tv made for a relaxing stay. Of course much of our time was spent in Cambridge itself which was a 15 minute walk away. The walk is pleasant, partly through a park but don't expect the city centre on your doorstep.

Indeed the location is the only very minor set back. You can hear a little noise from the busy main road. However the accommodation is very good so we could easily forgive a little noise. Just to mention the b&b does have parking at the back.

All in all this is a very good b&b which will not disappoint. The breakfast was very good. 5* easily for the full English. This along with friendly staff make it a b&b I'd recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingOfTheReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

There are many hotels whose management should take this "guest house" as an example of the standard they should try to reach. The room was very well appointed with iron, hair drier, plenty of towels and toiletries. The breakfast had as big a choice as I have ever seen (kippers, salmon, vegetarian options, pancakes, buffet style...) and everything was cooked to a wonderful standard, tasty, generous and not greasy. All staff were helpful and pleasant. We were in toom 80-1 which is at the front of the main house by the front door but we were not disturbed either by people coming and going or by traffic. We don't mind walking so the distance to the city centre was not a problem for us (and it's a pleasant walk) and we will only consider staying here when we come to Cambridge again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemaryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My wife and I stayed Oct last year [2012] for 3 nights...Thursday through to Sunday. We found the owner Vince to be on the ball, pleasant to deal with and cooked us a breakfast to die for! Accommodation was spot on, the room girls kept our room spick an span and topped up with all the little extras.Ideal location for exploring Cambridge, 10-15 minute walk and you are in the city. Just booked again for this August:)

Room Tip: Was only a top floor available. bit of a climb but well worth the effort. So book early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,782 reviews
1.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.5 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,187 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#12 of 36 in Cambridge
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home from Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home from Home

Property: Home from Home
Address: 78 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Home from Home 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star silver award bed and breakfast. Located just a short walk from the city centre of Cambridge. Free wireless internet access. Private off road free parking. Breakfasts cooked to order from our large menu. Four star self-catering apartments also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Home from Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home From Home Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing