We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, But A little Far From Town Centre”
Review of Home from Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Home from Home
Ranked #21 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
253 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Quiet, But A little Far From Town Centre”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here a week and as we needed to be in the town centre daily, got in a lot of walking. The room was comfortable; the host interesting; and the breakfast was better than expected. The breakfast room is small so be prepared to reserve a sitting time daily. No air conditioning but the windows open so despite the heat and humidity, we slept well.There are several pubs close by. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elpavorealblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    69
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
44
104
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great B and B 15 mins walk till the centre of Cambridge.
The rooms are spotless and the host is welcoming and helpful.
Parking at the back, however watch entering, it's a very narrow entrance.
Breakfast was the best I have ever had at a B and B. About 6 different things to pick from on the menu. I had fresh pancakes with bacon.
I will be back.

Room Tip: Room 1 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We booked a one-bedroom apartment in Milton Villas (also called Home from Home B&B) and had every facility and comfort we could have wished for, including off-road parking. Our host welcomed us with a hot cup of tea and biscuits, and gave us advice about tourist attractions and places to eat. The location was within easy walking distance (15 mins) of central Cambridge and the colleges. This is a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

For a family, the room given in the annex was small. We were kept waiting for the breakfast as others had already come in. The breakfast area being small only 2 families could be accomodated. Service needs improvement, though the rooms and toilets are clean.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a family, you can avoid this B&B as the kids would be bored and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Home from Home for 4 nights during May Bumps week and had a very pleasant stay. We were in the basement apartment which was very spacious and comfortable with good amenities for sleeping (large comfortable bed) and relaxing in lounge area. Vince is a very good host and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was one of the best we have had in a b&b with a huge choice of options in a friendly setting. Home from home is only a ten minute walk from the centre of Cambridge and whilst it is on a main road it is very convenient and as the bedroom is in the back of the house it was not too noisy.

The only real downside was the bathroom which really could do with a refit. A towel rail needs fixing, some additional shelving for toiletries would be helpful, the window wood needs replacing as it a little rotten and particularly the shower could do with replacing as it is not easy to get under the head of the shower.

Access to the car park is a little tight / narrow for large cars but ok with patience!

Don't let that put you off though as it really is a very good b&b.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I normally stay in big chain hotels when on business, but I took the plunge and stayed here. Check in was super quick, my room was comfy with good amenities. The bathroom was separate I just needed to walk a few feet and it was for my sole use. The walls are a little thin so noise travels but the noise stopped at a reasonable time. Best part was breakfast lovely fruit salad followed by fried breakfast - beautiful poached eggs and the tastiest sausages! Check out was also quick and easy. Thank you home from home I'll be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
401 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our initial impression was not good. Our first room was in Vincent's own words "small for large people" - we're tall but average builds. However next morning at breakfast Vincent offered to move us to another, larger room which was so much better. Breakfast was excellent and the directions and suggestions on sites to visit were very informative. We had no issues walking into town from Milton Road. We would stay again but only in a large room!

Room Tip: Ask for a large room. Our second room was in the bungalow which also includes the breakfast room so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.3 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.1 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 122 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Guest House
The Cambridge Guest House
#11 of 122 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home from Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home from Home

Property: Home from Home
Address: 78 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Home from Home 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star silver award bed and breakfast. Located just a short walk from the city centre of Cambridge. Free wireless internet access. Private off road free parking. Breakfasts cooked to order from our large menu. Four star self-catering apartments also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Home from Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home From Home Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing