We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Home from Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Home from Home
Ranked #19 of 121 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a far from welcoming meeting, where we for example were told that the breakfast room was already occupied next day beween 8 - 9.30, as we checked in as the latest (3.30 p.m.) We stayed in the two bedroom with livingroom accomodation. One bedroom is surprisingly in the attic. Very warm. Windowframe was broken, so we could not open the window. As it was fixed, you would need a screwdriver to lock it.The attic bedroom is poor.
The rooms were clean, except some insects under one bed in the attic.
Location isin walking distance to citycenter.
Afer all it was definately not our "home from home"

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegian250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    71
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
106
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, UK
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Truly enjoyed our stay in Home from Home. Breakfast was absolutely delicious with lots of options available and lovely fresh fruit salad as extra bonus. Rooms were lovely with very comfortable beds with almost luxurious bedlinen. There was an iron and ironing board available in the room which was also considerate. The couple running the place were very friendly and happy to give lots of advice and recommendations about Cambridge and places to eat. This B&B is also well located with maybe 15 min walk from the town but only two blocks from the river and near two lovely pubs. On-site parking is available which is appreciable for Cambridge.

Room Tip: No lift so if you don't want to carry your luggage up two flights of stairs, ask for a room on g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanneleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here whilst visiting the Cambridge folk festival at the weekend with day passes. It was very comfortable (with a good shower available after getting wet at the festival!). The hosts were very friendly and the breakfasts were very tasty. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hebegebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

There is the main house and a bungalow at the back, which is where I was - this is well shielded from any external noise, like the road, though the walls are rather thin so you can't miss internal noises from other rooms. Very comfortable room - sofa, desk, big bed etc - and well maintained. The big selling point is breakfast. Visiting Cambridge for business over twenty-odd years, I've stayed in many of the city's hotels, but I have never had a breakfast to equal this one. Very extensive menu for a small establishment, and all cooked to order with real care. Brilliant. It's a bit out of the centre, but a very pleasant walk across Jesus Green.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here a week and as we needed to be in the town centre daily, got in a lot of walking. The room was comfortable; the host interesting; and the breakfast was better than expected. The breakfast room is small so be prepared to reserve a sitting time daily. No air conditioning but the windows open so despite the heat and humidity, we slept well.There are several pubs close by. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elpavorealblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great B and B 15 mins walk till the centre of Cambridge.
The rooms are spotless and the host is welcoming and helpful.
Parking at the back, however watch entering, it's a very narrow entrance.
Breakfast was the best I have ever had at a B and B. About 6 different things to pick from on the menu. I had fresh pancakes with bacon.
I will be back.

Room Tip: Room 1 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We booked a one-bedroom apartment in Milton Villas (also called Home from Home B&B) and had every facility and comfort we could have wished for, including off-road parking. Our host welcomed us with a hot cup of tea and biscuits, and gave us advice about tourist attractions and places to eat. The location was within easy walking distance (15 mins) of central Cambridge and the colleges. This is a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
2.1 mi away
Carolina Guest House
Carolina Guest House
#29 of 121 in Cambridge
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 121 in Cambridge
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#17 of 121 in Cambridge
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Worth House
Worth House
#3 of 121 in Cambridge
640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harry's Bed and Breakfast
Harry's Bed and Breakfast
#38 of 121 in Cambridge
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home from Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home from Home

Property: Home from Home
Address: 78 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Home from Home 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star silver award bed and breakfast. Located just a short walk from the city centre of Cambridge. Free wireless internet access. Private off road free parking. Breakfasts cooked to order from our large menu. Four star self-catering apartments also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Home from Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home From Home Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing