We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent B&B and recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home from Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Home from Home
Ranked #22 of 129 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An excellent B&B and recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Finding good accommodation in Cambridge can be difficult with high prices for low-value service. Home from Home gave us an excellent experience and good value (£40.00 per person per night). The rooms are very well appointed - comfortable bed, solid walls(!), loads of tea and coffee (and biscuits), good bathroom facilities etc. Our room was at the back of the house and therefore not facing the main road, which might perhaps have been noisier at times of peak traffic. Ours was wonderfully quiet. It was not a large room - a trade-off with the queen-sized bed in a room with original features. It was no problem for us. Free wifi is a great bonus. Breakfast was magnificent with a menu including kippers, omelette, full English and continental etc. I think the quality of catering rivals any five star hotel and probably betters it because everything if cooked fresh to order and presented with care. The only slight negative is that the dining room cannot accommodate only twelve people, so when the place is full (I am not sure how many would be staying, maybe over 20) then there can be times when it is necessary to wait for a seat, or book in a slot. Home from Home is in a good location - not the centre of Cambridge but within ten minutes walk across Jesus Green (for example) - a walk that is a delight. Car parking is free and accessed through a narrow lane to the right of the main house. Cation - the gap between properties is narrow so steer carefully!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CupCaketheBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    68
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
103
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

A very well family run hotel,extremly clean plenty of towels,shampoo etc, an abundance o f tea ,coffee, biscuits etc and replenished.Breakfast was beautiful with plenty of choice made to order and i have dietry requirements and vince bent over backwards to make sure all was ok with me i dont get this service in many big hotels so thankyou both for your kind consideration.A big recommendation to this hotel a definate home from home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suenkeith190736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

Pleasant stay, price reasonable (we only paid € 75 for high season!) the best b&b we have ever stayed in! The location allows us to view the city with a good stroll along the park and river. Room is clean, carefully decorated and lovely scented. Breakfast was a wide selection, we had full English breakfast which to our delight was wonderfully prepared and simply amazing. The staff was warm, friendly and helpful. If only all b&b could live up to this high standard! Extremely satisfying!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed for one night so we could visit Cambridge. The location was wonderful, 10 mins to walk to the centre. They also have private parking which was great. Our room was lovely and very tastfully decorated. I was thrilled to have a tea and cookie on arrival. In our room we also had the facilities to make tea/coffee and Liz had left yummy cookies for us.
Our breakfast was in one wrd - awesome
Thanks

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Located 10 minutes from the A14, north of the city, so very easily accessible. It's a 15 minute walk from the city itself, which is a lovely walk by the river and through the park, if you so wish. The owners are very friendly and offered us access to our room, to drop our bags and freshen up, even though we arrived early and our room had only just been vacated. The room was slightly small but clean, nicely decorated with all amenities and a lovely bathroom. The breakfast was superb with a large choice, a bright dining room to eat it in and quiet surroundings. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozza316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

We stayed at this B&B for one night. Found it delightful. Close enough to walk into town. Very good breakfast. Had a washing machine we could use which was very good. An excellent car park although a bit tight to get into but once in, there was plenty of room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

A medium sized B & B located just outside of the centre of Cambridge – but, if you pick the right route, a very beautiful walk into the city centre.

Advantages:

• Reasonable pricing
• Fair sized room and reasonable storage, with usual facilites
• Good breakfasts (in a separate building at the back of the property)
• Free wifi
• Very clean modernised room
• Substantial car park (although with very narrow entrance – which meant I carelessly scraped a wing mirror…)
• Friendly staff

Disadvantages:

• No residents lounge
• Poor seating in bedroom

I would happily recommend this establishment

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcw12kcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.3 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.0 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#20 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#16 of 129 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 129 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home from Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home from Home

Property: Home from Home
Address: 78 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Home from Home 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star silver award bed and breakfast. Located just a short walk from the city centre of Cambridge. Free wireless internet access. Private off road free parking. Breakfasts cooked to order from our large menu. Four star self-catering apartments also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Home from Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home From Home Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing