We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Reasonable Hotel”
Review of Helen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Helen Hotel
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Reasonable Hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2008

The Helen Hotel is a small hotel located in the Southern half of the city of Cambridge, close to the station and Addenbrooke's Hospital. It's approximately 25 minutes walk from the centre of the city. Nearby is a new leisure development with a cinema and ten-pin bowling.

The hotel has a very flash-heavy webpage which whilst being stylistically pleasing was slow to load and difficult to navigate through. We booked over the phone, finding the hotel staff to be courteous and efficient with our booking.

We booked a double room for two adults at a rate of 80 pounds per night. We stayed for five nights. The room was adequately sized with a double bed and nightstands, dressing table, small sofa, wardrobe and an obvious recent addition on another nightstand: a flat screen TV. The TV would be better suited mounted to the wall as on the stand it takes up more space than necessary. I found the room to be more than adequate space for two adults despite this obvious poor use of space. The furnishings were in very good condition. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided, but the selection is not extensive (neither hot chocolate, sweenter nor brown sugar provided, but there is a biscuit per adult). The bathroom was spacious with a bath and shower combination. I found the bedroom and bathroom to be clean. The bathroom has a clear window rather than the usual frosted type. Our bathroom was overlooked by another window and I felt that this rather dispelled any idea of privacy. Noted another clear window in the communal bathroom of the first floor.

The room was cleaned daily and this was always satisfactory.

Breakfast was a buffet affair with efficient staff keen to attend. An good selection of cooked foods available, but seemed to be poor choice for vegetarians. Croissants and scones available but presentation stark. Breakfast finishes at 9am, which is a little early for my liking on a holiday.

The hotel has a lounge with a large television and a bar. We did not use these. The garden is accessible through French doors in the breakfasting room. Given the clement weather, it's a shame that the garden is not put to more use and furnished for breakfast or guests' use.

We did not need to use parking and so cannot comment on this.

At all times we found the staff to be friendly, courteous and helpful.

  • Liked — Courteous and polite staff
  • Disliked — Lack of bathroom privacy
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwilightSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    75
    38
    16
    4
See reviews for
21
65
18
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Stayed one night after reading the favourable reviews. Good to be able to park right in front of the hotel (this was midweek). My room was a little compact for a double, but as I was on my own, this was more than adequate. The bed was really comfy, and I liked the hefty, lush furnishings - impressive curtains and nice linen on the bed.
The bath was a little awkward, since as soon as I turned the taps on it came gushing out of the shower and soaked me!
Breakfast was nice, the service was good.
What was most convenient was that just across the road was a collection of chain restaurants all in a row, with a cinema as well - very handy.
If I had another meeting in Cambridge, I would definately use Helen Hotel again.

  • Liked — Convenience for getting dinner out
  • Disliked — Creaky floorboards and stairs
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

Booked Helen Hotel over the phone and stayed for two nights two nights (Friday and Saturday). Hotel is approx 15 min walk from the station (heading out of town) and about 25min from the town centre.

Room was definitely smaller than expected with a retro 70s feel, oldish carpets and rubbish stuffed behind the bedside table! Bathroom was tight.

Breakfast is a buffet affair, food is reasonable and the service was very good.

Overall, I was disappointed by the hotel, especially given some of the previous reviews.

  • Liked — Breakfast service
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wilytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

I stayed at the Helen Hotel for just one night, to go to a friend's wedding. I made an intial enquiry via the website, which is rather disconcertingly flash, but actually booked over the phone. At all times the staff were really helpful and friendly. Both bedroom and bathroom were spotless and the bed vwas very comfy indeed. Breakfast was plentiful, although after a late night it was a shame it finished at 9am! (I think it's 9.30 on a Sunday, but even so!)
The hotel is only 15 mins easy stroll from the station, but if you've got lots of luggage or it's raning you can get a bus (no 7 and possibly others.) You get off at the stop just past the (very ugly, from the outside anyway) Travelodge. I walked into the city centre in about 25 mins (slowish walking) but the same bus will take you there in 5. The only fault I could find with the Helen was the ironing board they gave me which kept collapsing! I'd certainly return.

  • Liked — Comfy bed
  • Disliked — the ironing board!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovecats65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2007

stayed at the helen hotel over the august bank holiday weekend for the sunday night. hotel is on the main road and about a half hour walk to the centre of town. hotel room was small but clean.definitely nicer on the inside than the outside. little starry eyed getting up for the nine o' clock deadline for breakfast. a buffet affair for breakfast. i wont praise the food it wasnt the best on our visit. but we got by. overall the hotel is a reasonable b & b but not as good as i had expected reading previous reviews.

  • Liked — the shower
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBookgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

The hotel is clean and comfortable. We had a twin room with a very small but clean and perfectly functional shower room(£80per night). Though the room was on the main road it was not too noisy (on a Saturday night) but there was a little noise from the room above. The room was well maintained with very slightly dated decor, although it was not a large room it was spacious enough for us not to be on top of each other - two mirror (one full length) were a bonus.
The breakfast was buffett style with a reasonable range of cooked and continental style choices. The staff were polite and efficient but not overly friendly.
The Helen Hotel is about a 30 minutes walk from the city; we walked in and back with no problem in the day and paid about £6.50 each way for a taxi in the evening.
Overall the Helen Hotel was comfortable and adequate for our needs although I wouldn't have wanted to pay any more for the room we had.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Distance from the city centre
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

The hotel was clean and tidy and generally we enjoyed our stay very much. The major drawback with this hotel is that it is a long walk to the city centre and back, though there is a bus service.
We stayed for 3 nights and on one of the days our rubbish was not taken away when our room was cleaned, but other days were fine.
This is a very nice Bed and Breakfast as long as you don't mind a fair bit of walking.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank EmiRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.9 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helen Hotel

Property: Helen Hotel
Address: 167-169 Hills Road, Cambridge CB2 8RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Helen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Helen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helen Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing