We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As a hotel it is poor, if it said guest house I would score higher”
Review of Helen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Helen Hotel
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“As a hotel it is poor, if it said guest house I would score higher”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

There are expectations of a hotel which were not here. Call it a guest house and I'd score it higher.

Building is actually two semi-detached housed knocked together with just a few walls knocked through. Front car park holds just four average cars, there is a yard at the back but you need to find it by driving down the road and up a side alley first. Reception is an unmanned desk, ring for service and young man appears but not uniformed- hotels have reasonable car parks and god reception. Yup, no lift but two staircases side by side, how easy but would be to replace one with a simple lift. Rooms were ok but not special. We had a standard domestic divan 4ft 6in. which is not hotel standard. Furniture probably 20 years old except settee which looked like great aunt Maude's or from a charity shop. Lock to bathroom door was broken and had been for a while, sink plug was a lever except lever end was missing so took a bit of grasping of the rod. Shower head was well worn so a feeble jet. Breakfast was simple help yourself from heated hotplates with no selection (take it or leave it. As a guest house it would score higher but still average but as there were hotels next door for the same or less that offered more, we'll know next time.
A bit of TLC could make this nicer but otherwise next time I'll go next door to Travelodge which is cheaper and offers more.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank filberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    78
    41
    17
    4
See reviews for
21
68
19
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have just stayed for 3 nights at the Helen Hotel Cambridge. This is not in the centre of the city, but due to the difficulty in parking it was better to be a short distance out. A short drive is a Cineworld witha Tesco Express, Sainsburys local and a few restaurants.
Rooms are comfortable with heating, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Two rooms 215 and 216 are situated right by the reception, so if you have difficulty walking these are very convienant. Room 215 has a wet room. The bed was a little hard but cosy. No lift.
As this is not a large chain of hotels the breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and hot. There were cereals, fruit, toast to order, croissants, bacon, eggs, hash browns, sausage and beans/tomatoes.
A short drive away is the train station where you can get disabled and normal parking. The red hop on and off bus goes from her for a tour around the city. This is well worth doing.
If you have a car it takes 5 mins to get to the main street, Regent Street where there are lots of restaurants

Room Tip: Room 215 wet room and on ground floor. 216 on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelleyGrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had a twin room which was clean and the bathroom was lovely. Excellent location near Cambridge train station. It is on a main road but actually slept really well and heard no traffic at all. It was good that there was some parking. It is about a twenty minute walk to the centre of town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Booked this hotel for a weekend into the city and wasn't disappointed. The hotel is about a block away from the Cambridge Leisure center. Lots of places to eat to include a Tesco express and a small Sainsburys. The bed was a little hard and the pillows were sort of soft, but overall a comfy and cozy place. The room was a decent size, and the ensuite (in room bathroom) was a nice touch. I don't like sharing my space. Lastly, they passed the clean sheet test. Pulled the covers back and no misc hair, stains, etc. City center is a quick trip on the bus or in a taxi, or you can take the 20 min to walk. The staff was extremely friendly and nice, there's on sight parking and additional parking up a ways, both are free of charge. The breakfast is a bit early, but was surprisingly nice. Overall a great stay and would do it again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The room is spacious and comfortable. But there is no lift in the building. If you are bringing big luggage, don't consider this hotel. They only have one room in the ground floor for the disabled. Breakfast is excellent and service is good. The only downside is quite far from the University and shopping area. Have to walk more than 20 minutes to reach the city centre. Good value for a night stay in Cambridge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PYTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

An independent hotel conveniently situated for exploring Cambridge on foot - if, like us, you don't mind a walk - or by bus, the stop being just across the road. The accommodation was perfectly adequate, very clean and despite being on a busy road we were not disturbed by traffic. Breakfast was fine and the staff were polite and helpful. We felt it was reasonably priced for what was on offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piglet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

reading the other reviews I wonder if we were staying at the same Hotel,on arrival the exterior seemed tired,our parking was at the front and off the road with another large car park at the back.On entry the receptionist was welcoming,and our room on the first floor was large and comfortable ,spotlessly clean.Quite old fashioned but in keeping with the rest of the building.The breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of choice.We would not hesitate to use this hotel again when visiting Cambridge.Very good value for the Cambridge area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 826vivvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helen Hotel

Property: Helen Hotel
Address: 167-169 Hills Road, Cambridge CB2 8RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Helen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Helen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helen Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing