We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation - friendly staff”
Review of Helen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Helen Hotel
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 31 May 2009

At 80 GBP per double room per night, including a more than adequate buffet breakfast, the Helen Hotel offers good value. The standard of our room was good although the en-suite was a bit cramped. Despite having a room at the front of the hotel on a busy main road, we found the traffic noise levels acceptable (traffic at night is minimal). Parking is free, which is a big bonus.
We can certainly recommend this hotel and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2009

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Cambridge, look no further. A group of nine of us stayed two nights on a golf tour and just wanted somewhere decent but fairly modest to sleep and have breakfast. We were not disappointed. The hotel's decorations and furnishing are in very good condition and it is kept very clean. Although the rooms are small, they are comfortable and very well equipped. Moreover, the management and staff were extremely competent and very helpful and friendly. The inclusive breakfast was first class as was the service. Full marks all round.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Good value hotel, comfortable bed, bathroom was rather cramped, great breakfast. Convenient to station, great if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

This was an odd one, half ancient and half modern. Looks like they gave up half way through doing it up. Heavy locks on doors, was woken suddenly by neighbour's key and thought they were coming into my room. Saying that, breakfast was above average.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Psychdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

We had 4 nights at the Helen Hotel which is in a fairly charmless area of Cambridge near the station but handy to central Cambridge with a bus-stop outside. Our room was quiet, clean and comfy, though a little small for 2 travellers from Australia with large suitcases. The staff - very friendly and helpful but a little jaded by perhaps too many years of dealing with guests. Breakfast was OK.
We felt this place had the opportunity to be REALLY good with a little decluttering of the bedrooms (hang the TV from the ceiling for a start!), a lot more character added in the public areas and a good redesign of the breakfast room and fairly useless & dull garden. Us Aussies would also fling open some windows to get rid of the aroma of the great British breakfast! However, a warm & friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eadygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

The Helen Hotel is a small hotel located in the Southern half of the city of Cambridge, close to the station and Addenbrooke's Hospital. It's approximately 25 minutes walk from the centre of the city. Nearby is a new leisure development with a cinema and ten-pin bowling.

The hotel has a very flash-heavy webpage which whilst being stylistically pleasing was slow to load and difficult to navigate through. We booked over the phone, finding the hotel staff to be courteous and efficient with our booking.

We booked a double room for two adults at a rate of 80 pounds per night. We stayed for five nights. The room was adequately sized with a double bed and nightstands, dressing table, small sofa, wardrobe and an obvious recent addition on another nightstand: a flat screen TV. The TV would be better suited mounted to the wall as on the stand it takes up more space than necessary. I found the room to be more than adequate space for two adults despite this obvious poor use of space. The furnishings were in very good condition. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided, but the selection is not extensive (neither hot chocolate, sweenter nor brown sugar provided, but there is a biscuit per adult). The bathroom was spacious with a bath and shower combination. I found the bedroom and bathroom to be clean. The bathroom has a clear window rather than the usual frosted type. Our bathroom was overlooked by another window and I felt that this rather dispelled any idea of privacy. Noted another clear window in the communal bathroom of the first floor.

The room was cleaned daily and this was always satisfactory.

Breakfast was a buffet affair with efficient staff keen to attend. An good selection of cooked foods available, but seemed to be poor choice for vegetarians. Croissants and scones available but presentation stark. Breakfast finishes at 9am, which is a little early for my liking on a holiday.

The hotel has a lounge with a large television and a bar. We did not use these. The garden is accessible through French doors in the breakfasting room. Given the clement weather, it's a shame that the garden is not put to more use and furnished for breakfast or guests' use.

We did not need to use parking and so cannot comment on this.

At all times we found the staff to be friendly, courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwilightSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Stayed one night after reading the favourable reviews. Good to be able to park right in front of the hotel (this was midweek). My room was a little compact for a double, but as I was on my own, this was more than adequate. The bed was really comfy, and I liked the hefty, lush furnishings - impressive curtains and nice linen on the bed.
The bath was a little awkward, since as soon as I turned the taps on it came gushing out of the shower and soaked me!
Breakfast was nice, the service was good.
What was most convenient was that just across the road was a collection of chain restaurants all in a row, with a cinema as well - very handy.
If I had another meeting in Cambridge, I would definately use Helen Hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
19 reviews
1.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
392 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helen Hotel

Address: 167-169 Hills Road, Cambridge CB2 8RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £79 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Helen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Helen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helen Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing