We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A & B Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A & B Guest House
Ranked #32 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed here one night for work. The staff were very friendly, and helped out with taxi bookings. Location great for the station. Room was spotless and welcoming, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    40
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
26
26
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a perfect place to stay. Very close to the station. The breakfast was amazing. really tasty and plenty of choice. Staff was very nice and polite. Spotlessly clean and very quiet. I stayed in the room on the top floor. Had a nice view of a little park. I would recommend this place to anybody.

Room Tip: I stayed in the top floor room. very nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markS196333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

A & B guest house is to be recommended - the guest house is charming and in an ideal location for visiting the sites of Cambridge.

The room was light and airy and met our needs perfectly; the breakfast was well cooked and provided variety to meet everyone’s tastes which is not always the case with guesthouses.

Thank you for making us welcome, I hope to stay with you again should I return to Cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kallam12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was a great little place with a convenient location and free parking. The staff was really nice too. The breakfast was really good. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five was because we were there during an unusual heat wave and got placed in a room on the top level of the house, which would normally probably have been fine, but it was uncomfortable hot. They were really nice to provide us with a fan, but it was extremely hot in the bathroom because of the skylight. Other than that, it was really really great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Having surfed for some time we eventually found this lovely guesthouse. Much cheaper than the others we could find, AND with free parking (some were charging £19 per day!), we decided to stay. We could not have felt more welcome- the breakfast was really nice, and the young lady who dealt with us throughout was so polite and very friendly. We found Cambridge centre to be 20 minutes walk away, an easy stroll, and the transport links to the hotel very easy. We will definitely stay again when we come back, and have already recommended to friends and family. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

If you are looking for affordable accommodation within 10 minute walk to the centre of Cambridge then you can't beat A&B Guesthouse. Nice hosts, clean room, comfy bed and great breakfast (more beans please!).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I thought this guesthouse was pretty good. The proprietor and her husband were helpful and allowed us to leave our luggage with them for part of the day that we checked out. The breakfasts were tasty and there was plenty of food available in the mornings. The only thing to be mindful of is that if you are a North American, you might want to spring for one of their larger rooms. The room that we were in was on the top floor and so the beams from the roof made the room feel quite small (see photos already uploaded). The bathroom was also very small. All in all, good value for money - if I had more, I would have opted for a larger room on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Opt for a bigger room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natedawgsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#20 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Norwich Street Apartments - Peymans
0.0 mi away
YHA Cambridge
YHA Cambridge
#1 of 37 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citystay - Vesta Apartments
Citystay - Vesta Apartments
#21 of 37 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A & B Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A & B Guest House

Property: A & B Guest House
Address: 124 Tenison Road, Cambridge CB1 2DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — A & B Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, recently refurbished family run Guest House. We have 10 en-suite rooms with flatscreen TVs, free wifi access in rooms and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your A & B Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a & b Guest House Hotel Cambridge
a And b Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing