We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Problem with booking confirmation”
Review of Bridge Guest House

Bridge Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bridge Guest House
Ranked #89 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Hanau
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big Problem with booking confirmation”
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Big Problem!
We had booked a family room 30 days in advance for 1 night (90 Pounds) and got a confirmation. We arrived at the B & B at 6 p.m. Then they said that they didn't have a room for us, because they didn't get an answer to their fax in which they asked if we would still come. They send the fax on our arrival day at noon. First: we didn't give them a fax number. Second: they knew that we come from Germany. It isn't possible to arrive in Cambridge within a half day from Frankfurt/Germany.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank 19lustig00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramata, owner at Bridge Guest House, responded to this review, 28 April 2009
It's perfectly right for guests to express their experience whether good or bad - but it is also right to tell the whole story. Yes, there was human error on this booking - which when management became aware did their utmost to rectify before the family's arrival. When contact to confirm the reservation failed, we quickly found another guest house very close by and secured a reservation - just INCASE the family showed up. All staff that day/night were alerted that it was possible this family may arrive in which case they were to be redirecred to their new accommodation. It was most important to us that we did all that could be done under the circumstances to ensure their safe arrival to their new accommodation. This family was NOT left stranded. Thousands of guests are satisfied and very happy with our friendly and helpful services and return to us on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    20
    20
    7
See reviews for
13
15
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Guest houses like this one should not be allowed to operate in the 21st century. I paid £45 for a basically clean but drab, dowdy, old-fashioned, inconvenient, noisy, uncared for, tatty single room. The breakfast offered no choice other than more white toast, coffee when I ordered tea, an egg that tasted like a mouse mat, a poor quality sausage, OK bacon and a few baked beans. There was no cheery welcome nor anyone around to say goodbye to at 9am. I'm sorry, but.....!!!

  • Disliked — state of building/facilities
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dochertyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramata, owner at Bridge Guest House, responded to this review, 10 August 2008
we are quite a busy guest house with many returning guests/visitors who value our service, high standard of cleanliness and good quality breakfasts - always cooked fresh to order. Our main goal is to ensure that ALL guests experience a pleasant and comfortable stay and we do our utmost to help in any way we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2007

I spent two nights in this guest house and couldn't get away fast enough. To say the place is overdue for a refurbisment is an understatement. The paint work was no longer white but very strongly off-white. The paint on the ceiling was peeling quite badly. The carpet had obviously seen better days. The proprietor is certainly not hotelproud.

There were though, saving graces - helpful friendly staff and cleanliness. Although when I offered a cheque and bankers card as payment I was made to feel as if it wasn't good enough and it took longer than necessary to proces by reception staff.f The ensuite shower room was clean if only basic and could have done with a new shower head.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank AppleandPears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2007

This is a very basic B & B. The common areas are actually more than decent, but the rooms are very basic, drab, and unimpressive. If you are looking for a quaint, lovely English B & B, this isn't it. If you want a decent rate, with a reasonable walk from city center, and a minute's walk to the cinema and leisure center, then this is certainly passable. We stayed in the back, so noise was not an issue, but it is indeed literally on a major road, near a petrol station, the least romantic setting imaginable.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkScooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 February 2004

We stayed at the Bridge Guest House for 5 nights in February 2004. The room was ok, the furniture a little well-worn but clean. The only problem was the heating in the bathroom: it ran at full speed all the time but the room didn't warmed up. The breakfast was tasty, the service quick and friendly. Our room layed backward therefore we didn't hear any noise from the street. It was a great advantage for us that a bus station is in front of the hotel because we visited Cambridge without our car and had to use the public transport. All in all we would spend another holiday at the Bridge Guest House.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2003

I stayed in the Bridge Guest House for five days in August of 2003, and I do not recommend it:It is on a very busy street and anoying noise persists all night.The walls are thin.Water pressure in the shower was often minimal.The breakfast was not apitizing: two large greasy pieces of bacon, white (only) toast, beans, a ruberry egg, and a glass of orange juice.On my last night a friend decided to stay over, and the skinheaded young man in charge insisted that to satisfy fire regulations we had to rent a second room and pay for both (my single, at 35 pounds/night plus a family room at 60 pounds/night); no flexibility on price, two stayed for almost three times as much as one.

Helpful?
7 Thank C7197OLbenjaminb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sorrento Hotel
Sorrento Hotel
#25 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rathmore
The Rathmore
#84 of 122 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairways Guest House
Fairways Guest House
#82 of 122 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Citystay - The Marque
Citystay - The Marque
#17 of 37 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Earl of Derby
The Earl of Derby
#26 of 122 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Guest House

Property: Bridge Guest House
Address: 151 Hills Road, Cambridge CB2 8RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bridge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Guest House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing