We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Cambridge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
YHA Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Spot on”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location near ti the rail station in quiet residential street with good access to the city centre. Recently refurbished in line with other popular YHA's means well thought out room suitable for short stays with families or close friends. We had an en suite room which was a bit of a treat. Room was pretty hot - perhaps too hot.
Didn't sample the bar or food but it looked pretty decent
Nice outdoor area at the rear for food/sitting/lawn games etc
Bike lockers - small and fiddly and only four of them - may be worth booking ahead if you need to access them

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HtDMtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay despite the room being hot.
We are currently in talks to have more (and less fiddly!) bike lockers installed so that we can provide this service to all our guests without the need to book ahead.
I hope to welcome you again soon at YHA Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    54
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
10
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I'm a 24 male staying in Cambridge on and off over 5 weeks. Did not come to the YHA before its refurb, but they have done an amazing job. It has a very welcoming feel to it. Rooms, toilets and showers are clean and fresh. Drinks are very reasonably priced, cheaper than a lot of pubs. Same for the food, good price and great food. Staff are all lovely. Very welcoming and friendly. A few that stood out for me; Christina, Nigel, Cornelius, Mark and the little chef (don't know his name). If i'm back in Cambridge i would almost certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesbrown1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back to YHA Cambridge soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed here for one night, and I must say I really enjoyed my stay! The room (I was in room 002) was very spacious and very clean, as all of the premises. There was a very warm and smiling welcome when I checked in, staff in general seemed to be very helpful and attentive. The bar area is brand new and very inviting - make use of it! Breakfast was very good, with a more or less full English breakfast, fruit, juices, everything you can want for 4,99 GBP! The "living room" was nice as well, with big comfy sofas and armchairs, and a choice of books and board games. The YHA had a bit more "YHA atmosphere" as I know it from my school days than other YHAs I recently stayed at had, which means, it seems to be a good space for groups and school classes. However, I felt welcomed, secure and had a good night's sleep, so I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello Claudia,
thank you for your review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again soon at YHA Cambridge.
Christoph
YHA Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I won a competition with the local airport at very short notice, and after a coach ride I arrived in Cambridge. I went straight to this hostel and without given notice of my arrival. I was greeted very friendly, explained their policies and I was in bed. Super convenient and fairly priced. Even though I was there for a short while, the rooms and staff were great. Generally all good.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi David,
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind review and I hope that you will stay at YHA again.
Christoph
YHA Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

When the revamp is finished and the snagging jobs are sorted this will be an excellent hostel. Everything is brand new. The power showers are a bonus after a sweaty bike ride. The food is good value and there are a few bike racks to keep your bike safe. (Maybe best to book one in good weather...I was lucky to get one). The staff cannot do enough for you and its a relaxed reception area with comfy chairs. Security is excellent; by programmed swipe card. There are lockers to put your stuff in.. (take a mini padlock). The food is good value and served with a smile ;-)

Room Tip: Ask for a bottom bunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay at YHA Cambridge and hope to see you again.
We're currently working on installing more bike lockers as well as a bike rack in case many cyclists are staying on the same day, so hopefully there won't be any need to pre-book these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Despite the fact that this is a hostel - small rooms, shared showers etc - the revamp or redecoration means everything is new and flash and very comfortable. Great common room and bar, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley87little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very handy location, 5-10min walk from rail station; staff friendly and efficient; hostel newly refurbished so the room, although compact, was smart and spotless with comfy bunk beds each with a handy light and socket, and blackout curtains. Shared toilets and showers, 3 of each on our floor (this was made clear on website) - a couple of folks waiting for shower by 7.30am but quiet before and after then. Breakfast OK - a good selection, but "hot" buffet items a bit dried up and on the warm side. Self catering kitchen was also available. Good rules - quiet after 11pm, and strip your own beds (painless way to keep costs down), Locked luggage room was very useful between 10am check-out and train - optional lockers £2 or £3, but many cases were just left in the room so we did same, a little concerned that we weren't asked for ID when coming back to collect them, but it was a staff member we'd dealt with earlier so maybe that was why. Overall superb value, friendly and functional - will be my first choice when travelling to Cambridge again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hostel! We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.5 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Cambridge

Property: YHA Cambridge
Address: 97 Tenison Rd, Cambridge CB1 2DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the newly refurbished Cambridge Youth Hostel and spend time in the heart of this lively, historic university town on a cheap city break. Just around the corner from the railway station and a 15 minute walk from the city centre, accommodation at this backpackers' hostel gives you easy access to the colleges, museums and art galleries that have helped make Cambridge famous. Hire a punt, explore the ancient streets and enjoy the city's cycle-friendly routes. YHA Cambridge makes an excellent base for exploring everything that the city is famous for. We offer dormitory accomodation as well as private rooms. As YHA is a Childrens' Charity, if families book directly with us, they get special, lower, family room rates. The brand new Scholars bar and restaurant has a relaxed, vintage feel with its distressed wooden tables and leather chairs - a perfect place to catch up with friends over drinks and nibbles. Delicious meals and bar snacks are available at this licensed hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your YHA Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Youth Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing