We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly refurbished hostel with a warm welcome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Newly refurbished hostel with a warm welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here overnight in July and was pleasantly surprised on arrival at the friendly and helpful staff plus the high standard of refurbishment at this hostel. Everything has been chosen carefully to create a welcoming atmosphere and ensuring maximum comfort for visitors staying at this hostel. The tasteful refurbishment also reflects the local history and character of this historic city. There is an open lounge area and dining room leading on to a secure pleasant courtyard area to the rear of the hostel. There are 4 bike lockers in the courtyard area with ample seating. My en suite bedroom (Room 112) overlooked the front of the hostel and was very comfortable. The shower was hot and the whole hostel was spotlessly clean.
There is a good selection of food on the menu and portions are generous. I had a 12inch pizza which was delicious and freshly cooked. The bar area is well stocked an very competitively priced. It's only a 20min. walk into the city centre and the receptionist will provide you with a map and advise you on the best way to get there avoiding the busy roads. All the staff I met during my brief stay were very helpful, cheerful and friendly. I would certainly recommend anyone to stay at this hostel. As a single traveller I felt safe, secure and look forward to staying here again. This is a wonderful example of a hostel renovated to a high standard throughout and coupled with such friendly staff makes an ideal place to stay in this historic city. Try it and see for yourselves!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location if you are disturbed by traffic noise at the front of the hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraEverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hello Barbara,
thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I very much hope to welcome you to our youth hostel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    53
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
10
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great hotel, looked really good, clean and felt very comfortably. It is located nearby the railway- and bus station and with a short walk you are in the centre of Cambridge. The staff was really friendly and were doing their best to make you feel like being at home. The room and facilities were tidy, comfortable and clean. Also liked the little theme touch of "The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy" of the main hall. Would certainly return and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our interpretation of Douglas Adams and other famous University of Cambridge alumni. We look forward to welcoming you again to our youth hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Youth Hostel with two small children. The hostel is well set up for kids, with a play area outside and self-catering kitchen, and the set-up of the rooms means that even with large groups of people the rooms themselves are quiet and isolated. Everything about the place was cheery and clean. Excellent service from the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgeMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back YHA Cambridge or another hostel in our network soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I recently stayed here for a couple of nights with friends whilst visiting Cambridge. We shared a 4 bunk room which was clean and comfortable with a lovely hot shower.
Very near to the railway station and a short walk to the centre of Cambridge. Definately would return and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fopelfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to YHA Cambridge soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This newly refurbished youth hostel is very clean, warm, and has welcoming staff. Rooms are comfortable and en-suites are excellent. Within easy walking distance of railway station and only a little bit further to town centre. Menu is not as good as it might be, but I understand this is on direction from head office, so no reflection on the hostel itself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you felt welcome in our youth hostel and had a good stay.
If you could contact us to let us know what you disliked about our menu, we would be very happy about the feedback. As you are aware, this menu is used throughout the YHA network and we'd all be delighted to improve it.
I hope to see you again soon at YHA Cambridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

It was just perfect to stay in this hotel! Staffs were lovely, Very near to the railway station, decorated very well, comfy beds and no problem using shower room. Rooms are a little bit small, but it didn't bother me at all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim19921222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at YHA Cambridge and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location near ti the rail station in quiet residential street with good access to the city centre. Recently refurbished in line with other popular YHA's means well thought out room suitable for short stays with families or close friends. We had an en suite room which was a bit of a treat. Room was pretty hot - perhaps too hot.
Didn't sample the bar or food but it looked pretty decent
Nice outdoor area at the rear for food/sitting/lawn games etc
Bike lockers - small and fiddly and only four of them - may be worth booking ahead if you need to access them

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HtDMtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Cambridge, Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay despite the room being hot.
We are currently in talks to have more (and less fiddly!) bike lockers installed so that we can provide this service to all our guests without the need to book ahead.
I hope to welcome you again soon at YHA Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Cambridge

Property: YHA Cambridge
Address: 97 Tenison Rd, Cambridge CB1 2DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the newly refurbished Cambridge Youth Hostel and spend time in the heart of this lively, historic university town on a cheap city break. Just around the corner from the railway station and a 15 minute walk from the city centre, accommodation at this backpackers' hostel gives you easy access to the colleges, museums and art galleries that have helped make Cambridge famous. Hire a punt, explore the ancient streets and enjoy the city's cycle-friendly routes. YHA Cambridge makes an excellent base for exploring everything that the city is famous for. We offer dormitory accomodation as well as private rooms. As YHA is a Childrens' Charity, if families book directly with us, they get special, lower, family room rates. The brand new Scholars bar and restaurant has a relaxed, vintage feel with its distressed wooden tables and leather chairs - a perfect place to catch up with friends over drinks and nibbles. Delicious meals and bar snacks are available at this licensed hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Youth Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing