We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and friendly. Nice option in Cambridge.”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good location, clean and friendly. Nice option in Cambridge.”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I stayed here a couple of times in May and June 2011. The first time I had a standard room, and the second time one of the executive rooms on the 3rd floor. I don't know if the price difference was worth the upgrade to the executive room. It's a nice room, but the view is nothing special (there are trees obscuring it completely) and the balcony was tiny and furnished with the smallest table and chairs I have ever seen (this could be easily fixed by the hotel as I noticed unused areas on both sides of the balcony which could be converted into usable space). In any case case, I always slept well here, which is what matters, and found the rooms quiet (yes, the secondary glazing works). Service is fine and with a bit of a family-run feel to it. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, and the buffet could be improved. Internet is charged at £4 a day if I remember correctly. The air con system in the rooms is excellent and easy to use. Water pressure in the shower took a little while to work. The room had no mini bar but had tea and coffee facilities, some fruit, a biscuit and a bottle of water. Anyway... It's not the Hilton, and it's not Du Vin. I think it could be a top choice in Cambridge if they reduced their prices by about 5-10% and went more after the budget-conscious business traveller. At the moment it's just slightly north of the sweet spot, price-wise.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    186
    41
    8
    4
See reviews for
60
188
35
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Our son is at christ's - so this is a good place to stay - closer to the university than most of the small hotels. Its also more friendly than places like the Crowne Plaza - and the rooms are clean and tidy. There is always someone on reception - and they are really helpful. Also there is a (small) lift - which was good because we also had my mother with us.

It was £130 for a double room including taxes - and the only downside is that there is no English breakfast - but that probably saved significantly on the gym bills.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenevaBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

My family stayed here for just one night but were very comfortable in a lovely room. The beds had quality linen and warm a duvets, breakfast was average, but all in all a good place to stay when in Cambridge. Parking was an issue, but for one night was ok.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptrio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

for a starter there is NOWHERE to park, it is on a main road near the center of town, the hotel has no specific parking for guests, you can either park out the back on a single yellow line after 6.30, or free onside parking (3 spaces!) after 5pm for free, or at a local car park which you have to pay for.
the hotel is very nicely layed out and furnished. the staff are very friendly and helpful, the room is a nice size and has everything needed for a guest.
have to pay £4 for internet access. the road outside our room was so noisy all night, buses, cars, taxis etc and then later when the pubs/clubs let out people where very noisy, the air con kept bubbling too

Room Tip: ask for one at the back of the hotel, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pascamb, Owner at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear Guest

Many thanks for the time taken to review your recent stay at the Regent Hotel and provide valuable feedback for other Tripadvisor users

It would seem appropriate at this point to clarify the Parking arrangements at the Hotel. The Regent Hotel does not have its own car park but customers can (Currently) park free of charge at the rear of the Hotel on a single yellow line from 6:30pm in the evening until 8:30am the next morning and all day free of charge on Sunday. There is also a multi story car park located 5 minutes walk from the Hotel. Parking arrangements are mentioned on our website and in our confirmation letters.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by the noise at the front of the Hotel however all of the rooms do have double-glazing to minimize this. It has been noted by previous reviews that the double-glazing was effective in reducing the noise level associated with our central location. The air conditioning units allow the rooms to be cooled and ventilated when the windows are closed and designed for hotel use however we will check the unit to make sure that it is not faulty

I am clearly delighted that you found all other aspect of the Hotel (The room, the layout, the staff and the amenities) to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2011

A lovely small hotel within walking distance of the city centre.Room was small but very comfortable and spotlessly clean.Bathroom was substantial with power shower. Staff were very helpful, and the communal areas attractively furnished. The breakfast was continental only which wasn't an issue for me , and it was fresh and plentiful.Nice views over the park too.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steves1631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2011

First of all, the staff were great. I phoned ahead to check my booking and the woman on reception knew from my name that I was booked without having to check. I asked for an ironing board to be left in the room and it was there. The welcome was friendly and professional. The Regent is in central Cambridge and a few minutes from the new shopping centre which has transformed the place for shopping since we lived there in 2004. So, everything you need, except - I booked us the 3rd floor Executive room, at £154, because it supposedly had everything the other executive rooms had but was even more luxurious and had a balcony. We couldn't manage the Hotel du Vin for this trip so I wanted the best I could find for still quite a lot of money. But from the photos we would really have been better off in the other executive rooms which are clearly larger. The balcony itself was tiny, and I would suggest the view will be wiped out anyway by the gorgeous foliage of the two trees directly outside the window. It was hard enough to see anything through the bare branches in the Srring. I feel that we were a bit misled by the description of the 3rd floor rooms. I recommend the hotel, just don't stay in the top floor. Also - there's an inch wide gap under the door and radio was broken!

A small gripe but I was hoping for a wow factor and didn't get it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnestH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Very friendly and welcoming smaller hotel in central Cambridge. From the moment of walking through the door we felt comfortable and relaxed. Standard double room was spacious with a very generously sized bathroom. Tea / coffee in the room, TV, wired internet etc. as you'd expect. This was a Saturday night during the university term time, first floor room at the front overlooking Regent Street - but nevertheless quiet and peaceful. Good continental breakfast included (cereals, grapefruit, juices, rolls / croissants / pastries, meats and cheeses, fresh toast etc.) in the ground floor bar / breakfast room. If required the ground floor lounge area also had a PC available (though we didn't use it). 24 hour access, though you have to ring the door bell after midnight.

Parking in Cambridge can always be a problem and although the hotel does not have a car park there is a multi-storey car park 5 minutes walk away by Parker's Piece and before 8.00 a.m. / after 6.30 p.m. and all day Sunday there is free on-street parking in the lane behind the hotel. We arrived early Saturday afternoon and spent £4.50 to park the car in the car park till 6.30 then moved it to the lane - good value compared with the £16.00 overnight charge the University Arms Hotel advertised for residents! There is rear access to the hotel from the lane (find the bell and ring it), but it isn't at all obvious - easier to walk 2 minutes round to the front and get them to let you out if you need to bring luggage in from the car.

Only downside for us was that the controls for the air conditioning in the room seemed a bit idiosyncratic - hence not quite full marks for sleep quality.

If you want a hotel with restaurant for lunch / evening meal, swimming pool / fitness suite etc. that you'd get in a larger establishment then this isn't the place for you - but otherwise for bed & breakfast in a city centre hotel this is highly recommendable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nuttingcdef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,715 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: 41 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine listed building is situated in the heart of Cambridge. As a privately owned hotel we take pride in offering a personal, efficient and competitive service at all times. The Regent Hotel is completely non-smoking and all of the 22 bedrooms are fully air conditioned for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Cambridge
Regent Cambridge
Cambridge Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing