We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Corby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Just one night here for our Easter break in Cambridge in a lovely, clean room at the back of the hotel on the 1st floor overlooking the park. Only noise we heard was some floorboards creaking from upstairs but it is an old character hotel. It's well located in terms of an easy walk into the city but is on a busy main road. No carpark and we were lucky to get a space on the road opposite the hotel after 6pm Saturday. Staff were friendly and helpful, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodie1Corby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    184
    41
    8
    4
See reviews for
58
185
34
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at the Regent Hotel over the Easter weekend and thought it was good value for money and would recommend it to anyone staying in Cambridge and looking for a simple, no frills hotel.

We found the hotel clean, comfortable and warm with lots of hot water which all helped over a very cold weekend

Although our room was on the street side we weren't troubled by any noise despite being there on a Saturday night.

Although the hotel doesn't offer a full breakfast the continental breakfast offered was fine and plentiful.

Room Tip: Might be worth askinf for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid risk of street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Aware of potential noise issues in the street-facing rooms, we had booked a double executive room overlooking Parker's Piece and were happy with it. Decent-sized and clean with a nice view and a fairly large, well-appointed bathroom. We arrived on a Sunday, which meant that parking was free behind the hotel; for workdays there is parking next door for £16 a day or £12 across the Park. Location was perfect, a five- to ten-minute walk to everything. However, you might want to be aware of the fact that Parker's Piece can be quite a hangout for noisy drunks in warmer months. Front-desk staff friendly and helpful, check-in and check-out a breeze. For those leaving early in the morning (eg. for Stansted), takeout breakfast can be ordered the night before; regular Contintental breakfast okay, but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Parker's Piece quiet in winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ijnlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

A real find in a city short on good hotels. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff - check in especially was really charmingly done. 5 minutes on the bus from the railway station and 10 minutes walk from the city centre. Room (109) was spotlessly clean and looked like it had just been refurbished - comfortable bed, very quiet, nice tea/coffee etc on tray. Bathroom very clean also. The room overlooked Parker's Piece; it was not noisy in the least. There is no 'thundering traffic' on the main road outside. Breakfast - basic continental, pastries, fruit, cereals, ham, cheese, yoghurt etc: it's perfectly adequate and worth remembering it's included in the price, which is not the case with the more expensive outfits in town, where breakfast will easily add £15 to the room rate. Very highly recommended, would stay again like a shot.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking Parker's Piece at the back are probably going to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Recently stayed here for two nights on a visit to the university.
It is in an excellent location, approximately a ten minute walk
from Greater Saint Mary's (the centre of town). It backs into
Parker Piece, a large green common that is quiet, but opposite
from where the Coach to the airport stops, so it's convenient
for that too.

The room was on the small side, but had everything you would expect.
It was clean and well maintained too. Bathroom was good. Internet
service was available both wireless and wired. Connection was good.

Breakfast was included; it was a buffet with cereals, bread, cheese, ham, etc.
The staff was very friendly. My last morning, I had to leave before the
breakfast buffet opened, but they accommodated me with no problem.
That was very much appreciated.

Over the years, I have stayed in several other hotels in Cambridge. This
has been my best experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at the Regent for a weekend in March 2013 - what a great find. We were looking for somewhere central and quiet - difficult, by definition! The Regent was perfect - we had a large room overlooking Parker's Pieces so it was really quiet. the room was large and spotless, bathroom was sparkling - coudlnt ask for more. We could walk to all the places we wanted to visit within 5 - 10 minutes, and were surrounded by bars, restaurants and places of interest. Staff were really friendly and happy to help. I'd definitely book again. Only tiny niggle - and it is tiny! - is that we thought we could get room service and so tried to order a nightcap but the bar was closed.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms overlooking Parker's Pieces to guarantee a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Right in the heart of Cambridge we had a great stay here. Service was great fabulous, we got there early and as our rooms were ready the early check in was no problem! Rooms were clean, bed comfy and a lovely view from our window. Was small but we didbook a small room. Price was fine as it was so central. It really was the service that made it for us. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-Rarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: 41 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine listed building is situated in the heart of Cambridge. As a privately owned hotel we take pride in offering a personal, efficient and competitive service at all times. The Regent Hotel is completely non-smoking and all of the 22 bedrooms are fully air conditioned for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Cambridge
Regent Cambridge
Cambridge Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing