We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service even after the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service even after the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is my first review on Tripadvisor and it all came about because of the excellent service from the Regent Hotel AFTER we left. We stayed there for the Cambridge Folk Festival, so first a few quick things about the actual stay.

Room - We had an executive room - clean, big, comfortable and nicely situated with a view of Parkers Piece.
Food - We didn't have the breakfast until the day we were leaving, at 5:30am. The staff nicely recommended pre-ordering for our journey to Stansted and had our to-go breakfast ready as we hit the road. We left earlier so it wasn't quite ready but they rallied and we pulled together the essentials (coffee, water and croissants).
Location - Perfect for the Festival - easy walk to the bus that takes you to Cherry Hinton Hall, with the return bus dropping us directly across the street from the hotel. Very easy, pleasant walks to a number of nice restaurants (10 to 15 minutes).
Parking - The prior reviews are accurate. Parking is one and a half blocks away but was easy enough for us. We briefly parked near the hotel, got our bags in and then moved the car to the carpark (where it stayed for the entire trip).

Now for after. My husband had bought some rare vinyl records (at least for the States) at the market and we promptly left them in the hotel room. We realized it as we were arriving at our second destination (Scotland). By the time I got online, the Regent Hotel had already contacted us two times, notifying us that we had left a package and asking how we would like to address the situation. They gave us a couple of options (going back, sending within the UK or sending home). We asked them to send the records home and, within a week, the 6 records, nicely protected in bubble wrap, arrived at our home. They communicated the entire time, indicating when the package had been posted, how it was sent, etc.

For us, the customer service both during and after the trip is what will have us coming back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    184
    41
    8
    4
See reviews for
58
185
34
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Regent hotel is in a lovely building and although previous writers have said their rooms were small, we found our executive ones to be large and nicely decorated. However, the 4 members of staff we encountered were unhelpful, very cold, and a bit rude. We started off feeling annoyed by the staff, and left feeling annoyed by the staff.
We checked in, me, my husband, 3 year old son, and mother, to be told we had booked 3rd floor executive rooms and children aren't allowed on the third floor because of the balconies. With all the travelling i've done i've never heard such a thing before and found it peculiar to say the least. If i was them i'd be more worried about the flimsy handrail on the main stairway that moves when you try to hold on to it when there's a massive drop to the basement.
Anyway, after lots of blank looks from the hotel staff they decided the one room could be down graded to one on a lower floor. However, it was a non refundable booking and i couldn't have a refund of the difference. What!!! I can understand i wouldn't get a refund if i had had to change the booking, but when the hotel has made me change it i found it seems ridiculous especially as no where on the website does it say that children are not allowed to stay on the 3rd floor. After lots of arguing they eventually decided we could have the refund but it was with gritted teeth.
The staff made no effort to tell us anything about Cambridge or make our stay comfortable and when i asked for a map the girl at reception looked like i'd slapped her in the face.
The hotel is around a 10/15 minute walk to the centre and so it's a good location. Trying to walk from the nearest ncp car park with all the bags and 3 year old was hard going though so if you need a car park i'd find a different hotel.
We all slept ok and there was a mix of feather and polyester pillows to choose from which was good as i'm allergic to feathers. In the executive rooms the beds are said to be super king but their in reality two single beds put together with only a thing mattress topper covering the both. So, in the middle of the bed there's a big hard ridge that there's no way anyone could lie on.
The continental breakfast was quite nice. There were lots of different cereals, grenola and bread rolls with different preserves and spreads. But, the girl serving us only gave us 3 pieces of toast for 3 adults and a child which was a bit mean. The breakfast area is large and bright and overlooks the park which is nice.
When we checked out we were told that we would have to pay for the papers we had ordered the night before. We were asked if we wanted papers and so assumed it was a free of charge service as the majority of hotels provide them free, especially when your paying more for an executive room. Again we were left with a negative view of the hotel.
Overall, the rooms are comfortable and decorated well, and the building is grand and special. The staff however seem to do the bare minimal and instead of welcoming are on the verge of being confrontational for no reason.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Unfortunately, I'm disinclined to recommend this hotel. While scrupulously clean, the mattress was so firm that it was akin to sleeping on a solid concrete floor. Or in our case, not sleeping at all.

Additionally, when reception staff took an imprint of our credit card, they went to considerable length to assure us that it was just for 'extras' or in case we left the room damaged. Considering the pre-paid room rate was all inclusive, I'll put the room damage comment down to questionable staff training rather than being offended that their staff considered my husband and I to be room trashing types.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My daughter and I spent 1 night here at the beginning of July. The room was small but more than adequate. Very clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and obliging. The continental breakfast had plenty of choice and we had great coffee too, which is a huge bonus! Will definitely stay here again if I am back in Cambridge. Great value for a hotel so close to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mano W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanwood, NJ & Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for a five nights while in Cambridge for business. Location was excellent, 10-15 minute walk from the historic center, next to Parker's Piece, and surrounded by decent restaurants and pubs. It's also a reasonable walk from the train station. While the breakfast is continental as opposed a traditional English one, it is extensive including pastries, rolls, hams, cheeses, yogurt, cereal, granola, and fresh toast among other things. The staff seemed fine, though I didn't have a lot of interaction with them. The room, a small double, was very clean and decently sized, even for two (I was on my own). The only negative was that my room faced the street which could be a bit noisy with the windows open. The room did have AC, so I could close the window at night.

I'll likely be traveling to Cambridge several times a year and hope to be able to stay here again. It's also my boss's, who travels to Cambridge once per month, go to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanschag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Central location, clean and attractive rooms, very nice and thoughtful continental breakfast. Plenty of shops and restaurants close by and the park in the back is wonderful to access through the back door. Only 5 minutes into the crowds of tourists down Regent Street.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SavoyNewHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

we stayed at Cambridge on the weekend the tour de france started. The hotel crew didn't have any idea about where to park our car without having any problems with blocked streets. We had to find another parking during our stay. The hotel didn't inform us about the fact, that there would be a big music festival in front of the hotel, so we had two noisy nights.
The crew didn't have any ideas about where to go out for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: 41 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine listed building is situated in the heart of Cambridge. As a privately owned hotel we take pride in offering a personal, efficient and competitive service at all times. The Regent Hotel is completely non-smoking and all of the 22 bedrooms are fully air conditioned for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Cambridge
Regent Cambridge
Cambridge Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing