We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How pleasant”
Review of Acacia Guesthouse

Acacia Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Acacia Guesthouse
Ranked #47 of 123 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed at this guest house with friends as we wanted a weekend of punting. The staff were friendly, the room was clean, including the bathroom, the owner was very accommodating and allowing us to leave our car there before check in time as we wanted to maximise the day and get there early. The breakfast was excellent and the service very good. Extremely hospitable. The guesthouse was located conveniently for the City centre, on the bus route or if there are four of you - why not share a cab, it probably works out cheaper than individual bus fares. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: When booking, make sure you read up thoroughly because not all rooms have en-suites. If you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

I loved this B&B. It was in a great location. The bus was around the corner and a 10 minute ride to city center and the train station. There are a lot of restaurants nearby. Also a grocery store is around the corner as well. The B&B served a hot breakfast and/or cereals. The B&B was very clean and airy. It was a quiet place. I would recommend it highly!

Room Tip: I loved my room on the 2nd floor. It was very cozy and I slept well. You could hear some road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Staff was very kind at any time. Room was clear. We stay in Cambridge 3 days. Breakfast was good, english breakfast was fresh-cooked.
Hotel is not near city center but it is well connected by buses, but they aren't cheap, about two £ for any trip.
The only problem we found was that wi-fi doesn't work in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The owners were very friendly and accommodating. The cooked breakfast was sufficient and satisfying, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. It's a bit of a walk to the city center, but you can take a bus if you prefer, since it stops nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yapitori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed in the room overlooking the garden for one night. The room was clean, adequately-sized, and was in a quiet location even though it was on a main road. You have to take a bus to get into the city centre which was a nice way to see the city but it's quite far to walk. The host was very friendly and the cooked breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erato_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Looked after me when my dad was in intensive care made sure I had a room and was ok loveliest people and so kind can't thank them enough

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muingwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Our stay here was neither thrilling nor overly disappointing. Our room was OK although needed some DIY attention. The bed was comfortable. The owners were certainly pleasant. The breakfasts were satisfactory although the full English breakfast came with heated up tinned chopped tomatoes, which was a little sad.

The building itself had its faults. Horrible big flat roof dormer windows have eroded its character and visual appeal. The windows failed to block out some of the noise from the busy road. And all of the doors in the place just seemed to love being as noisy as possible slamming shut whenever they could. We were in a ground floor room next to two bangy entrance doors and below a room inhabited by a clodhopper who seemed incapable of finding a seat.

In terms of location, the guesthouse is a fair walk from the railway station and town. However, do not be tempted to get a taxi. We made that mistake and were quite obviously taken the long way round and forced to pay £7.80 for a trip that probably only needed to be around £4.00.

All in all, it's alright. We enjoyed our stay and did not leave feeling miserable.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank stanlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.2 mi away
Lantern House
Lantern House
#75 of 123 in Cambridge
68 reviews
6.1 mi away
Silverwood Lodge Guest House
2.6 mi away
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 123 in Cambridge
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#81 of 123 in Cambridge
16 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tudor Cottage Guest House
Tudor Cottage Guest House
#29 of 123 in Cambridge
109 reviews
2.7 mi away
Arbury Lodge
Arbury Lodge
#35 of 123 in Cambridge
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Guesthouse

Address: 157 Mowbray Road, Cambridge CB1 7SP, England (Formerly Dykelands Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: £66 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Acacia Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing