We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average BB in many respects”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlton Lodge
Ranked #74 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Brussels / Turku
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An average BB in many respects”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Our room was on the bigger side, clean but the bed was shortish. The shower is often a challenge in England. The Carlton Lodge provides parking and if full, there is free parking around the corner.
While listed as a hotel, it really is a Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fyke_Cadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    17
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
11
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

This is not an expensive operation that distracts guests from their road-weariness with fancy-looking fixtures and pillow mints. It is a family affair, run by a friendly and personable dad who paints his own hallways and is happy to talk over breakfast about the economy or the latest sport scores. The single rooms are small, but perfectly adequate for someone who is in town for work or to see the sights and who doesn't plan to spend days lounging in the room. You simply cannot beat the rates. The house is on a busy road, and my room was on the front of the house, but I slept well all the same. I did have to remind the owner at least once to turn the heat on in the evenings, but he never balked when I did so. They see much return business here, since staying here is like staying with friends. I plan to return when I'm next in town.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shagird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here last August while we were in Cambridge for a friends wedding. We chose this B & B on the basis of trip advisor reviews which seemed reasonable. All we wanted was a clean place to sleep but, unfortunately, we were very disappointed. The room was very dated and grubby looking and smelt damp even in August. It was carpeted throughout (including the bathroom) and I felt like I wanted to keep my shoes on the whole time I was there.
I would definitely not recommend Carlton Lodge as somewhere to stay in Cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulabren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

gwent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

for the price of the non ensuite single satisfactory. room 3 small but comfortable. in need of a coat of paint. cold Buffet Breakfast was great, a change from the normal cooked english breakfast. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Room was refreshed daily. Bathroom in urgent need of decorating. Ideal for business visitors on a budget. will visit again on my next work visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millamisky05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

I stayed one night at Carlton Lodge and was very dissapointed. For 50.00£ per night I expected much more. Only clean place in the room was the bed. Other furtniture in the room and fittings in the bathroom had few years dust on them. Everything in the room was old and dollhouse size. And, smelled so badlly. The carpet was covered with dust and stains.
The breakfast was suspicious corn-flakes, couple of pieces old ham and cheese packed in a plastic foil and the owner took it away immedietly after I took few pieces, and very bad quality instant coffee. Butter and spread were couple of months after the due-date. That's not a continental breakfast.
Yes, the owners were friendly but 50.00£ for friendliness only is too much.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

The mattresses in the twin suite are getting very old. The room was on the small side. No warm breakfast. Parking in front of the house. Walking distance from center (25 minutes).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knokke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

On a street liberally sown with guest houses, I believe that I may have struck upon the best. Ciaran was friendly and efficient, the room clean and well appointed, and the buffet breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadanach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#16 of 122 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Worth House
Worth House
#3 of 122 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Your Space Apartments The Hamiltons
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Lodge

Property: Carlton Lodge
Address: 245 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing