We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small charming B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brooklands Guest House
Ranked #94 of 121 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small charming B&B”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a nice B&B with easy walking access to Cambridge and the colleges. We stayed in the attic room 2nd floor (level 3 American). It was small, but comfortable. The breakfast was very good. I booked with a Credit Card, but cash seemed to work better for paying the bill. We had free parking and a comfortable bed for a reasonable price. I have read some of the other reviews and yes I can say they might be accurate, but if you want large room w/o character stay in the large hotel chains. I enjoyed my stay here. I was here less than 12 hours and most of the time I was asleep. My Brother and I (2 men) stayed 1 night in 2 twin beds attic. I am 6 feet 3 inches tall and 255 pounds and the bed was long enough.

The location is roughly about half mile walk from where all the sights you want to see are, but it is not a bad walk and there are plenty of pubs and restaurants if you get thirsty, tired or hungry on the walk. There is a nice small convenience/grocery store about 2 or 3 small blocks away I think it was a TESCO Express. This is always a plus for us as we can buy a just before bed beer in our room. I have to be honest this is an older B&B with all the charm. Narrow stair case, small rooms and all, but in the case of our room they made it a very comfortable stay despite the buildings limitation. We still had hot coffee and tea in our room and an alarm clock. The alarm clock was the only alarm clock I think we saw in any of the 6 rooms we stayed in the UK. I felt like we got good value for our money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmac_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    9
    16
    31
See reviews for
4
31
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I wasn't really sure what to expect so took a leap of faith and booked one night at this Guest House. To say the rooms are small would be an understatement and 2 people navigating the room was impossible. On entry I knew I had made a terrible mistake. On a plus side the owner was helpful and the bed was clean, and it does come with breakfast sort of choice was cereal and yoghurt or eggs and toast which is fine. If you just want a bed for the night with no frills then go for it, but it makes the Travel Lodge seem big and luxerious by comparison.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuck31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I only regret not having read those Reviews before. Unfortunately, I have to agree on all the negative points that have already been mentioned here... The only positive things is the location however, Travellogde is defninitely the better choice. Brooklands is a rip-off .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baghira98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I booked the four poster room in September through their own website "brooklandsguesthouse.co.uk" for two nights as the pictures looked lovely. However after reading some of the horrendous reviews on Tripadvisor, I cancelled the booking the next day. My card was debited for the full amount immediately on booking. Their cancellation policy states,and I qoute - "Cancellations
If You cancel Your Booking more than 48 hours before the scheduled check-in time on the date of arrival, a full refund of the amount paid will be processed to Your credit or debit card within 5 working days". I cancelled TWO WEEKS in advance. After several emails(all unanswered) and repeated phonecalls to the number on the website over a week, each time the woman was rude, aggressive and gave me the complete run around,I eventually gave up and chalked it down to experience! As for my refund..... Im still waiting 3 months later!!!
BEWARE - DONT BOOK AT BROOKLANDS!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aly12334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed in Cambridge for three days. The place is very old and needs a serious touch. Very dirty floor and shower was not working even after changing rooms. Staff not really helpful. After reporting my problems they were not fixed and I was still charged the full price.

Room Tip: Difficult to say, I had two rooms and both were quite dirty. No 3 is with four poster bed but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerEuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I looked at the En-suite double room pics in the Internet and book it through, When I went to check-in She just shown me the ABSOLUTE CRAP IN THE ATTIC WITH TWIN BEDS AND YOU CAN'T EVEN STAND STRAIGHT THERE IN THAT CRAP(That's the room), WOULD U BELIEVE THAT I HAVE PAID £57 for a night & haven't spent 15 mins in that hell. Apart from all of that she didn't even greeted & apologised that the room she changed, And simply left off.
I literally hang in that place for 15 mins, That's the max & decided to check-out, and I did it as I booked in other hotel immediately.

As I am already done with that long 12hrs day of work, I can't even have a strength to argue with her. I left the hell

NOTE FOR BROOKLANDS: Please don't cheat the customers like this. Customers are the key to your business.

From now on you made me think like all the guest houses are crap. The worst place I have ever come across.

Room Tip: please don't go for the guest house by simply looking at the pictures in the website( absolute c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deuen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked this B&B for its location near the railway station, and because of the photos on its website which showed light, airy, spacious rooms with 4 poster beds. The reality was very different. Forget the 4 poster bed, the double bed practically filled the very cramped, awkward room, and there was almost nowhere to put anything. The bedside tables were covered in dust.

When we arrived there was no one to answer the door, so we had to call the number listed on the door, which in itself was very offputting. We had trouble understanding the accent of the women who answered the 'phone and were given a door code entry number and told our room number and that the keys were on the bed. This is very much a self-service approach with customer care non-existent. We had to go and find the owner/manager to get even basic information like what time breakfast was served etc., and a simple request to supply a hand towel (only one had been left for two of us) was completely ignored.

Breakfast was also mean -- you could have either yogurt and muesli or egg(s) on toast, not both. For £70 this was very poor value for money, and was only worth about £40.

The location is handy and there are bus stops for the city centre right outside the door. That's just about all that there is to recommend it.

Room Tip: This has been a valuable lesson in reading reviews before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyYoudale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Sorrento Hotel
Sorrento Hotel
#25 of 36 in Cambridge
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bridge Guest House
Bridge Guest House
#91 of 121 in Cambridge
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carolina Guest House
Carolina Guest House
#27 of 121 in Cambridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Guest House

Property: Brooklands Guest House
Address: 95 Cherry Hinton Road, Cambridge CB1 7BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooklands Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Brooklands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing