We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Moving Site”

Cambridge American Cemetery and Memorial
Ranked #2 of 167 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: First established on December 7, 1943, this area of 30.5 acres was donated by the University of Cambridge to serve as a permanent Military Cemetery to honor those Americans who gave their lives during World War II.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly Moving Site”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Went with my husband on a rainy afternoon...absolutely beautiful memorial for the WWII generation, impeccably maintained. Highly recommend visiting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    116
    19
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What words describe this,”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This place, this event, these men and women who still live through us. Their individual deeds and actions of selflessness engraved forever their value to our daily lives. Now we wait and watch again as the world unravels as it did in 1939. Do we sit by and distance ourselves pretending not to see the atrocities? I wonder if we have what they had, duty, honor and country. We shall forever look to these brave souls for inspiration and example. I live in awe of their shadow! Places like this are beautiful and thought provoking, but remain the inspiration of our backbone! Than you for this memorial to mankind. Everyone must see!

Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“An impressive place that does the US proud”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have been before to this place which records 5000+ missing in action and has graves for a further 3000+.The grounds and buildings are beautifully maintained and the chapel has an elegant simplicity about it. Since last I was there an informative Visitors' Centre has been opened with riveting displays that could fascinate one for hours. This solemn yet absorbing, immaculate place is a fitting tribute.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrewlgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very special place”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This cemetery and monument remind us that we are free today because of the sacrifice of those who fought and died for that right. The place is beautifully kept and presented. Do not miss this experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Interesting place to visit. Was there early in the morning, so had opportunity to experience the cemetery without many other people. The gardens are beautiful and the graves kept very tidy. The new visitors centre was informative and told the stories of real people.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DollyDimpleAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cambridge American Cemetery and Memorial also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Cambridge American Cemetery and Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing