We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible tour, simply makes the difference ”

Round Church Guided Walks
Ranked #25 of 47 Tours in Cambridge
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Round Church Guided Walks combine engaging tours of historic Cambridge with tantalising intellectual history to create a truly unique experience of one of the world's oldest university cities. Weaving together stories about major figures in the history of the University, our well-informed guides cover a range of subjects. These include the rise of the University from Christian monasteries, the relationship between science and faith, the abolition of slavery, and the Protestant Reformation. Tours depart from the Round Church Visitor Centre daily (2pm from Monday - Saturday; 2:30pm on Sundays) and include entrance into the Round Church Visitor Centre and several major colleges. The cost is £10 (£8 for students) - offering great value for money for a tour which delves deep into Cambridge's unique past. Private tours may also be booked online at https://roundchurchcambridge.org/Groups/257764/Home/VISIT/Tours/Tours.aspx
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We are a family of five with three teenagers and the visit would had been lousy if it would not have been for this tour. If you really want to immerse yourself and learn about Cambridge's colleges and interesting facts about intellectual celebrities that studied there such as Francis Bacon, Charles Darwin, Isaac Newton and C. S. Lewis this is the way to go. Make sure you go with Ian Cooper because he was the one who truly made the difference. He knows all the interesting things you want to know and explains them very passionately. He is a volunteer and it shows. Also, he wouldn't accept the fully deserved tip we wanted to give him at the end of the hour long tour. Please so not go to Cambridge and skip this opportunity of making your visit unforgettable. As a twenty-year old, I loved it.

3  Thank Panchoingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaatCH, Manager at Round Church Guided Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you, Panchoingham, for taking the time to review the guided walk you took with us. We're so glad you found the walk interesting and perhaps we'll see you again at some point! The Christian Heritage team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"christian heritage"
in 4 reviews
"hour tour"
in 2 reviews
"lewis"
in 3 reviews
"role"
in 2 reviews
"highlights"
in 2 reviews
"sites"
in 2 reviews
"school"
in 2 reviews
"history"
in 6 reviews
Filter

18 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

I did the tour from The Round Church, and it was very informative. The guide was knowledgeable and gave us many details about the Christian aspects of Cambridge. It was an inexpensive, 90-minute tour that took us into John's College, Trinity College, and Sidney Sussex College.

1  Thank Peppermint7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaatCH, Manager at Round Church Guided Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you, Peppermint7, for reviewing the Christian Heritage guided walk that you took! We're so glad it was a good experience for you. The Christian Heritage team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

90 minute walking tour of Cambridge gives a Christain perspective on Cambridge, the historical people associated with Cambridge, and the Protestant Reformation. It was much more than I expected and I highly recommend it! Our tour guide, Peter, was insightful, well prepared, knowledgeable, funny, and open to all questions. We were able to enter many of the churches/colleges we hadn't visited yet. Arrive early to the Round Church as they have a display that helps explain some of the history, and there's a short video as well. I wish there was a 3-hour tour.

2  Thank kats25805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaatCH, Manager at Round Church Guided Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you, Kats25805, for taking time to review the guided walk you took with Christian Heritage. We're glad you found it helpful! Best wishes, the Christian Heritage team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

5 STAR - JOB WELL DONE! This 90 minute walking tour gives a Christian perspective on Cambridge and the Protestant Reformation. I'd love to see it offered more than once a week. At present it is only available Wednesdays at 11AM, but call ahead and find out. Martin was our guide and job well done!

6  Thank foemmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaatCH, Manager at Round Church Guided Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you, Foemmel, for your review of the Christian Heritage guided walk. We're so glad it was an enjoyable experience for you. Warm wishes, the Christian Heritage team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Round Church Guided Walks also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Knapwell, Cambridge
 

Been to Round Church Guided Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing