We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Attraction?”
Review of Kettle's Yard House and Gallery - CLOSED

Kettle's Yard House and Gallery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: KETTLE'S YARD IS NOW CLOSED FOR A MAJOR REDEVELOPMENT, SEE THE WEBSITE FOR MORE INFORMATION. Kettle's Yard is a house with a permanent collection of early twentieth century works of art and a gallery presenting a changing programme of contemporary and modern art exhibitions. There is a lively programme of events including music and workshops.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Tourist Attraction?”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Having unsuccessfully tried to see The Backs, I followed the Main Road to Kettles Yard.
I found a small green, an old house, not Open, but with unkempt front garden.
At the rear was an Art Gallery, which looked open, but they were rehanging...or removing Art, and the place was full of ladders and the such like.
The tiny Chapel opposite was also locked up!
The Museum of Cambridge looked like it was Open, but there was no one in sight!
I left!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank essexgran2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettlesyard, Public Relations Manager at Kettle's Yard House and Gallery, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry that you seemed to visit when we were closed, we do have to close the gallery when we are installing new exhibitions, however the house and permanent collection remain open our usual hours, Tues-Sun 12-5pm. I hope you will be able to visit again when everything is open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    22
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Can't believe it's all free!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

An amazing gallery and adjacent art filled house right in the centre of Cambridge. Just visited the Art and Life exhibition with works by Ben and Winifred Nicholson, Alfred Wallis and others. Don't n=miss the house, which is a fantastic place, former home of Jim Ede and his wife. Set aside a couple of hours to explore the house and works of art. There are all sorts of chairs and sofas in every room where you can sit to view the art and surroundings. And you can take photographs to inspire you later!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LichenMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kettles Yard”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Hold really interesting exhibitions and the house is a paradise of treasures...anyone who collects should visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very interesting house & gallery”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Both house and gallery hold large collections of Nicholson, Ede, Wallis... Lovely Norman church adjacent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aberphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Went to see Ben Nicolson and fell in love with Alfred Wallis. What a lovely gallery. Missed the house didn't know that there was an exhibition there as well. Oh well an excuse to go back soon and it was free free, free

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kettle's Yard House and Gallery also viewed

Knapwell, Cambridge
Stapleford, Cambridge
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing