We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see”
Review of St. John's College

St. John's College
Ranked #10 of 159 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1511 from the estate of Lady Margaret Beaufort, mother of King Henry VII, this Cambridge college features a gatehouse whose exterior is beautifully carved and painted.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A must-see”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I love walking around this iconic Cambridge college. The view of the Bridge of Sighs captivates me every time. My favourite bit is the School of Pythagoras out towards the back (just ignore the ugly modern buildings near it!) - the School was built in the early 1200s and is an amazing little treasure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    107
    24
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
843 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 858 helpful votes
“Very ingesting trip through the college with someone who knows”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

As part of a package staying at the Varsity Hotel, we had a walking tour of the city include a walk though this college.

It was much more interesting and uplifting than I expected, the guide who had been to this College, and it showed

Then a walk past Kings, Trinity and Corpus Christie where the clock is brilliant, the time eater! We had walked past this a number of times without knowing the story, so the guide and the tour was great, but the high point was St Johns

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“I kept saying "gosh"”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Wow, what history in this college. Every way I turned to look at another aspect,I was amazed at how much it was steeped in history, and associations...I mean an apple tree from an original planted by Sir Isaac Newton, and statues from the 1600's...gosh!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dzonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“The Bridge of Sighs”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

If you wish to see the famous New Bridge (Bridge of Sighs) you must pay an entrance to St. John's. The grounds are beautiful, well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank curryking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 827 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is one of the most beautiful college and there is an entrance fee here. The architecture is stunning and the new additions to match; It has the pretty Bridge of Sighs, the 'Wedding Cake' and it is so amazing walking to the lovely garden grounds with mature trees and a brilliant view of river Cam.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. John's College also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to St. John's College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing