We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff + good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterman

The Waterman
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterman
Ranked #50 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Shellharbour
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff + good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Had a meal at this pub one night during our stay in Cambridge. All staff were friendly with excellent customer service skills. The menu was well priced with a good selection to choose from and we enjoyed our meals as well as the ambience of the dining room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KEM1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
12
45
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Recently stayed for two nights in a very spacious, clean and comfortable room. Darryl the B and B manager was very helpful. Located next to the Cam river and easy walk into the city centre. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
235 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Located near the universities, the hotel is made above a pub.. The pub is brilliant, but the rooms very small. Not to complaint about it but this is the reality. Very clean and nice staff. The sharred bathroom was ok but it will be better to have one in your room. For one night max 2 it's ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maniac_the_evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed a few nights at the waterman. Our room is very nice and clean.
Continental breakfast served at the pub every morning. The owner and staffs are very
friendly and helpful. Location is superb, walking distance to town center.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

The girl manning the B&B did not open the door for us! We had to walk down the street past several homeless people to a pub so that we could call and get her to open the door. She was really quite rude about it as well. The rooms were clean, but the carpets were stained and dirty ~the the whole place smelled musty and moldy and the entrance of urine and disinfectant.. We had to sit on the bed and eat our cereal, there was no other place to have breakfast. Had we not been so very tired and had such a hard time finding this place (Cambridge is not an easy city to drive in in the dark), we would have just fortified our money and gone elsewhere. On a positive note, the young man that set breakfast out, was very friendly and helpful...the only good thing about our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasBluebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed at the Waterman last night. Very friendly staff, very clean and tidy. We had a chinese meal from their tuesday Special Chinese menu, which was amazing, the bar was busy and the food all looked good. However, the pub is in the middle of a major refit, half the pub is closed off with curtains, the smell of gloss paint was overwhelming both in the bar and in our room. The pub is on an extremely busy T-junction and major bus routes, our room was very stuffy as well as full of paint fumes but the traffic noise was so bad it wasnt possible to leave the window open. Our room was quite small but nicely presented, dark though, as only the one small window. There is NO parking, outside there is a 4 car bay, but its 2 hours max between 9 and 5, double yellow lines everywhere else. The breakfast is basic, cereal, toast,yoghurts and fruit, it would be nice to have an hot option, especially in the winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We booked a room last-minute and the staff were very friendly and the rooms decent, especially the price. The location is also good for the price and the pub downstairs is nice. The only let down was the breakfast which only consisted of cereals etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanyewest100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#16 of 122 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Your Space Apartments The Hamiltons
0.6 mi away
Christ's College Cambridge
Christ's College Cambridge
#5 of 37 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lux Living Apartments
Lux Living Apartments
#6 of 37 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterman

Property: The Waterman
Address: 32 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Waterman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing