We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cancelled booking and terrible service”
Review of The Waterman

The Waterman
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterman
Ranked #55 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“cancelled booking and terrible service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Early one saturday morning we decided to visit Cambridge, so I booked a double room with ensuite at the Waterman through LateRooms.com, I paid and received my confirmation 8am that morning. After driving 3hrs we received a call at 12:45pm explaining the room we paid for was already booked and the internet was wrong to show a room available. The owner blamed LateRooms for the error and offered no solution other than to send us down the road to look for another hotel. Not accepting this I drove to the hotel. I met the owner who was very abrupt and offered no apology, sincerity and certainly no help in looking for an alternatel hotel to stay. So I contacted Laterooms whom confirmed it is the owners resoponsibility to look after the admin on the internet and LateRooms contact them immidiately through 3 channels when a booking is made; in rare situations of a double booking the hotel must try to find you alternate accomodation to a minimum or higher standard that you had booked. LateRooms contacted the owner who made one call to a friend down the road and all they had was a twin room with no ensuite at a lesser value; we did not see this as acceptable and we certainly wasnt desperate enough to take. LateRooms continued in vain to contact the Waterman for over 4 hours with no alternate hotel found. I understand these things happen but we booked online to save the hassle of looking for a room and certainly didnt want to waste our day doing this. I also object to being lied to and the way the hotel tried to wash there hands of us when the fault is clearly with them. I have no interest in the comments you'll make, I suggest you re-read you're booking obligations, learn some manners and try thinking how you could have dealt with your error

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
12
45
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I booked in at the Waterman on the strength of previous reviews and must admit to being disappointed. The outside is rather tired but the dining area is quite modern and appealing. At first sight the room seemed clean and comfortable. Unfortunately this first impression was spoiled when we went into the bathroom which looked clean and functional but smelled of mold and drains. We mentioned this to the barman and someone who we believe was the owner asked if he could go up to the room and check. We heard nothing more and believed he may have sprayed a little air freshner in and left the extractor fan running. The smell pervaded the bedroom during the night which was a warm one. In the morning the reason became clear! When I went to have my shower there was only half a door on the shower cubicle and water was poring out over the floor and obviously draining under the lino and creating mold! I immediately mentioned this to the gentleman in charge who looked surprised and said "No one else has complained, we are waiting for a part!"
We cancelled our second night there. I wouldn't have minded so much if they had come clean at the outset and told us there was a problem with the shower and perhaps even apologised and offered us some recompense, but no, they seemed to think they were doing us a favour charging top dollar for a room that was not fit for purpose. Avoid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuysGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Waterman was recommended to me by a family member for a research trip I was planning to Cambridge in June. In December 2013 I booked a room for two nights for June 2014. Alas, circumstances dictated I had to cancel the trip in April so I contacted them right away knowing this was peak tourist and graduation season--as a college professor I am aware of how quickly rooms fill up in my own town at such times. The Waterman refused to refund the booking even though it was several months in advance of the trip and they should easily have been able to rebook the room. Last time I conducted research in the UK, I had booked a room at one of the colleges. It probably wasn't as nice, but it was quiet, clean, had a snack-bar, and computer room on site and was across the street from the library. I would recommend doing that before booking a stay here. I consider what they did to be a "money grab". Had I cancelled less than a week before my stay, or had it been off-season when bookings are scarce, I MIGHT have understood, but this is "sharp business practices" and from what I have read about small rooms, no on-suite bathroom, and being above a noisy pub, the room at the college would have been less expensive, more convenient, and offered the same amenities!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank academicprofessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This B&B is located close to the key attractions of Cambridge (walking distance); the bedroom and shared bathroom were very clean and comfortable, the breakfast good and the service friendly and helpful. Food in the pub was of great quality. This B&B is a 6 pound taxi ride from the railway station. All good value.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the street and not directly above pub entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for a night and the rooms were comfortable, with clean bathroom and a good breakfast in the downstairs pub. The room was nicely decorated with a tv and kettle.
The room could have done with a desk area (it only had a shelf for the kettel). But otherwise was a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDodo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We went to the Waterman with a friend, for 2 nights in a Double room. The room was really nice, large and with a lot of facilities. The staff was helpful and warm. We also loved the breakfast, which offers a large choice and good products. This B&B is at 10 mn of walk from the city center. Thank you so much !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here with a friend for just one night during the summer. The hotel staff were very helpful - directing us to a suitable parking spot for the duration of stay. The room itself was very pleasant and clean. The shared bathroom was also maintained very well and kept spotless. Breakfast was simple but very enjoyable. Even when going down shortly before breakfast was due to end the staff were happy to allow us to grab some croissants and juice.

The location is great - with the river just behind the building and Midsummer Common only less than 3 minutes walk away. It is also very close to both the modern and historical centre. You can walk to both in around 15/20 minutes.

Overall a lovely B&B and very good value for money, would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelseameadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#17 of 122 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Your Space Apartments The Hamiltons
0.6 mi away
Christ's College Cambridge
Christ's College Cambridge
#5 of 37 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lux Living Apartments
Lux Living Apartments
#4 of 37 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterman

Property: The Waterman
Address: 32 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing